Bavarian Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I was looking for a good filling to fill my Dark Chocolate cake with. This was the best ever. Good in the cake, good all by itself. A big hit at my family function.!!! A keeper!! Thank you Carol for sharing :) 9/01/07 I also wanted to add that when I go to events THIS is the most requested dessert for me to bring. 1/24/11 Another update: This is still the most requested desert. I follow the recipe to a T. I do have to whip it again before I use it. I think it has great flavor. Enjoy. It is worth the bother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cj5380

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Normally I hate it when people review recipes after they make a bunch of changes, but it just turned out so good that I decided to go ahead. I decided to try and make it more carb friendly and so I used splenda for baking instead of sugar and half and half instead of milk. I followed the rest of the directions to a T and was very impressed with the final product. The only thing is, I was expecting it to be more pudding like, and when I added the whipped cream it turned out more like, well, whipped cream. I tasted it before I added the whipped cream and it was amazing. This could be used in boston cream pie or as pudding if it is made without the whipped cream. It could be used for cream puffs or other pastries as is. My lower carb version turned out fabulous. I give this recipe an A+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN-RENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This recipe was great! I used it to fill crepes and everyone loved it! It was different than I expected bavarian cream, but I followed it to a T and it turned out amazing! We will definately use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaresMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
i thought this was very yummy, and very easy to make. It was very thin when I finished folding in the whipped cream, buy if you let it chill for ten minutes, it is perfect. If you are filling a cake with it, just make sure to make a dam with the buttercream so that it won't sqeeze out the sides. Also, I know this recipe says you can eat it as pudding, but I wouldn't, and I would never let my kids. It is full of fat with all that heavy cream and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Excellent recipe. I used it to fill some cream puffs. Friends and family both said they were excellent not overly sweet and good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by subcook732

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ionia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This recipe goes well on funnel cake - you can add any kind of fruit to it, too. Anyone trying their hand at King Cake...use Bavarian Cream as your filling. Yumm Yumm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was amazing! Just what I was looking for to fill my cupcakes with. I followed the recipe to the T, except I used splenda as I was making it sugar free, and it turned out perfect and delicious. Word of advice, when straining the milk/egg mixture use a small holed strainer or one of the meshy strainers. Reason being the gelatin mixture has the little balls and if you use a regular strainer it leaves them in there making the mixture gritty. You will have to take a fork to it to get the liquid out and will need to empty the strainer from the remnants from time to time. If you want it to have a stronger taste, try adding more sugar and vanilla. I will definitely be adding this to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This is the perfect Bavarian Cream. If it doesn't turn out for you then you did something wrong. This recipe does lack the tecniques needed to make the recipe turn out correctly. I had to learn the techniques from a french chef at culinary school. Hard to make, don't try it unless you know the different tecniques to get it to work correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Oh my goodness...I love this recipe. It was so light but creamy and very tasty...lol...not good to eat by itself because it is really rich...anyways, Thanks for posting this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ducky316
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This recipe is wonderful and perfect for a boston cream pie as you can see!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ducky316

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States