Bavarian Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
i thought this was very yummy, and very easy to make. It was very thin when I finished folding in the whipped cream, buy if you let it chill for ten minutes, it is perfect. If you are filling a cake with it, just make sure to make a dam with the buttercream so that it won't sqeeze out the sides. Also, I know this recipe says you can eat it as pudding, but I wouldn't, and I would never let my kids. It is full of fat with all that heavy cream and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This recipe did not work. maybe i did something wrong? i double checked ingredients...but in end it never got thick enough to use for cake filling. Was the mixture supposed to be thick like custard before adding the whipped cream? mine wasnt...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Too much time for something not so great. This had a consistency very different from what I am used to with bavarian cream. It was a little too gelatin-y. It didn't have the right thickness and I thought it was pretty difficult to make. My family really liked it, but I won't ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This recipe was great! I used it to fill crepes and everyone loved it! It was different than I expected bavarian cream, but I followed it to a T and it turned out amazing! We will definately use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaresMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This recipe called for ingredients I don't normally have around the house, which would be okay if the taste was worth it. Unfortunately, the description is accurate when it calls the cream "light," since it was nearly tasteless... the gelatin somehow ended up really chunky, and the overall texture of the cream was less than pleasant... also, if you do choose to use this, be sure to stir constantly when boiling the milk, I seared the bottom of my pan by accident. I had to add extra sugar and vanilla to this to make it taste somewhat decent, but decided it would ruin my cake if I were to use it for a filling, and it didn't taste good enough on its own. It could be that I did something wrong, but I reviewed the recipe again after I was finished to make sure I did everything right and... well the result just wasn't very good at all. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
not bad, heavy whipped cream after taste but i dont know what bavarian cream is supposed to taste like. I will make it again, maybe as a topping for pies or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Normally I hate it when people review recipes after they make a bunch of changes, but it just turned out so good that I decided to go ahead. I decided to try and make it more carb friendly and so I used splenda for baking instead of sugar and half and half instead of milk. I followed the rest of the directions to a T and was very impressed with the final product. The only thing is, I was expecting it to be more pudding like, and when I added the whipped cream it turned out more like, well, whipped cream. I tasted it before I added the whipped cream and it was amazing. This could be used in boston cream pie or as pudding if it is made without the whipped cream. It could be used for cream puffs or other pastries as is. My lower carb version turned out fabulous. I give this recipe an A+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN-RENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I personally was not impressed. I used this recipe for the filling for a 50th birthday cake. Not one comment was made on the filling. This was not my idea of Bavarian Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I was looking for a good filling to fill my Dark Chocolate cake with. This was the best ever. Good in the cake, good all by itself. A big hit at my family function.!!! A keeper!! Thank you Carol for sharing :) 9/01/07 I also wanted to add that when I go to events THIS is the most requested dessert for me to bring. 1/24/11 Another update: This is still the most requested desert. I follow the recipe to a T. I do have to whip it again before I use it. I think it has great flavor. Enjoy. It is worth the bother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cj5380

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This is very creamy, and very rich, only let kids eat small amounts. My only problem was deciding what to do with it once I had made it, I made it for Food Tech class. We had to make a dessert that had to be frozen and I chose this, it made like 4 cups and afterwards I didn't know what to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States