Bavarian Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
@pinkdiamond1001 This recipe is a Cream not pudding. It is meant to be rich. Born and raised in Germany, it is not a surprise that I would love this recipe. It was nearly perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi M Lucas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
It was very fluffy. Not very sweet but that's okay. I used it in a trifle with strawberries and angle food cake. I don't like pudding so this was something good it was a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This is the best filling ever! My family loved it with a dark chocolate cake. They loved it all by itself! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Like some of the other reviewers stated, It was a little too much like whipped cream for me. I guess I was expecting more of a custard. It was a good flavor and still tasted great in the banana cake I made, but I will probably try to find a more custard like recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Wasn't quite the type of Bavarian Creme I was expecting, but it turned out well all the same. The recipe made way more than what I needed to fill a cake. It does have a vanilla pudding/custard taste but for the "quick and easy" version, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I got this same recipe from my grandma, she made it in the form of a pie, with either a chocolate waffer crust or a graham cracker crust, and toped with grated dark chocolate. It requires a ton of patience. Its easiest to refrigerate the custard mixture the goal is you want it set up to a pudding thickness (But def not thicker than pudding). I usually refrigerate while whipping the cream, its usually just about perfect timing, sometimes it needs to chill a bit longer. After mixing with the cream it needs to chill for a good 2 hours before eating. (and it should definately have its own unique taste, not at all like whip cream)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Are you looking for "American Bavarian Cream"? This is the pudding like custard used to fill doughnuts...then look for vanilla pudding or crème pâtissière (pastry cream) recipes. Meanwhile.... YUM! This is the real deal! I whipped this up and Great Grandma LOVED it. She said this reminded her of "the Old Country" and it started hours of conversation on childhood desserts. Very Tasty and fairly easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ducky316
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This recipe is wonderful and perfect for a boston cream pie as you can see!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ducky316

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This recipe is very tricky and for me, not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
To someone that has never made custard of any kind before, this recipe is slightly confusing. I have made this twice. The first time, I followed all directions and ingredients exactly. I believe I overcooked the custard because I was using a plastic spoon, not a metal one. It is difficult to tell when the mixture coats the spoon, so metal works best. Overcooking resulted in the yolk of the egg scrambling. The second mistake I made was with the straining. The recipe does not indicate which portion to keep when straining and because my egg cooked I had a significant amount in the strainer as well as in the bowl under it. I did not know which part to keep and I believe I used the wrong part of the custard for the remainder of the recipe. My end result was very little flavor and bits of solid pieces in my Bavarian Cream. However, the second time that I made it with the metal spoon, I took the mixture off the stove as soon as the back was becoming coated. I strained it and it became obvious that the portion to keep is the liquid that comes out of the strainer. I used this to complete the recipe and it turned out beautifully. We used the Bavarian Cream to make delicious filled homemade donuts for breakfast. Probably a novice mistake overall, but I feel the author should have indicated exactly what to do after straining the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States