Bavarian Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was great, I used a very dark beer to make this, and the flavor was great. I was afraid it would be too beery but was just yummy. My beer loving fiance told me he would have to eat his left overs in the break room at work to show them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
YUMMY!!!! Great recipe! Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARY262

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This looked and smelled like a flavorful dish but it was very bland. I think wine or apple cider would add more flavor than what the beer did for it. Maybe it needed to be a stout beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was absolutely wonderful! I stuck to the recipe except I added a little flour to the onion, mushroom & garlic mixture to make the gravy a little thicker. I added red chopped onions and served over butter noodles. The beer added to the recipe gave the taste and smell of cooking with white wine. I also simmered the mixture for about 30 minutes since the loin chops were very thick. This is a definate keeper for our family. EXCELLENT RECIPE, VERY QUICK AND EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I modified this recipe for a bit more flavor. With the modifications, it was excellent. I added diced red onions, fresh tomato chunks, lime juice, and pepper flakes. I added spices to the flour used to coat pork. I add the extra 4oz of beer to the noodles as they boiled. Pork was tender and flavor was great. (note - to reduce calories, I used a low cal margarine in place of butter) This will be a new favorite for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I followed the recipe exact. Pork was moist, but we did not find it flavorful at all - found it very bland, and had to thicken sauce at end with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Hubby and I enjoyed this very much. I did use beef broth rather than beer, but that was the biggest change I made. The chops were tender and moist. The flavor was subtle, but still delicious. I thickened the sauce at the end, and served these with spaetzle and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
These were really good but the sauce was a little thin so I added a little flour to make it a little thicker. I will make this again it was a simple but flavorful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Very good and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTAHTEX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States