Bavarian Apple Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
love this! I cut down the amount of apples to make it a single layer and i find this is a great amount. i also add a layer of jam/raspberry is good choice after the cheese layer! just adds a little extra i think. Great recipe Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Everyone always loves this recipe when I make it. I usually cook the apples with the sugar a bit to release some juices. Then I place the apples on top of the cheese filling and bake. I also add slivered almonds the last 20 minutes of baking. Everyone will think you bought it at a bakery! Bake this Torte! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by RayColsOh
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayColsOh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was a big hit.I used almond extract in place of the vanilla, in both crust and filling and added 1/4 cup sliced almonds..I used granny smith apples. DELICOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by parothstein
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was excellent! I made it the first time according to the recipe...and the second time it was even better when I added 1/2 t cinnamon and 1/2 t almond extract to the crust....and also 1/2 t almond extract to the cream cheese mixture! SOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parothstein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I've made this three times now and it's always been well-received. It's easy to make, looks great and my friends who don't like desserts have said that this is the one exception. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Amazing recipe!!! So fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
A beautiful dessert...far prettier than my photo shows. I used 3 large Granny Smith apples which yielded about 5 cups of thinly sliced apples. In the filling, I used 1 cup of the apples which I had cut further into thirds, sprinkled lightly with cinnamon and two shakes of nutmeg before stirring into the cream cheese. The remaining 4 cups of apples were used for the topping with slightly more sugar and cinnamon to compensate for the extra apples. I also followed the advice of another reviewer and microwaved the apples a little before placing them on top. There was about 1/3 cup of cinnamon/sugar/apple juice left in the bowl, so I added a little cornstarch and just poured it over the top of the apples. I was wondering if I would get a soggy torte, but the crust stayed crisp. I used a 10 inch tart pan and lined the bottom with parchment paper. This torte would be perfect for a special occasion as it can be made ahead and would travel well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Photo by TeacherTim
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Looked fantastic and tasted good--would try to spice it up a little if I make it again--the cream cheese tends to overpower the apple/cinnamon. Enjoyed making this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mayer, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by purocks
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This was rich and filling. I had it in Puerto Rico and KNEW I needed the recipe! It is also easy! I am a kid and I was able to make this as a surprise for my family! We had enough to last two nights! I just added 1/4 cup more of sugar to the recipe's filling and used 4 cups of apples instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States