Batter White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Love this bread! Easy and fast for bread, tasty, with a nicely crunchy crust. I used canola oil instead of shortening and rapid rise yeast (cause that is what I had). I let it rise twice, once in the bowl and once in the pan, after I read some bread info online. It rose very well and was so pretty. It was too salty for me and I will reduce that the very next time I make it, which will be soon! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Trying to find an easy recipe to make with my 8 year old grand-daughter. This was so easy and delicious. The only difference is We kneaded the dough just a little so she could experience the joy of kneading bread....entire family ate and enjoyed the bread as it came out of the oven....My son also thought it was a little salty, but loved it just the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Great recipe Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
WONDERFUL bread! Super easy! A MUST try! Everyone loved it! It was gone the same day. I will be making many more times. I used coconut oil instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
very easy- very good!! my husband loves home made bread ..which i have failed over and over to make to his satisfaction. with this recipe he was happy and believe me... so was i. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Thanks for sharing this recipe. I tried it today and it taste great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
easy to make (though a little messy for me), served it with the Ukraine Borscht recipe. Amazing stuff. I'm going to stick with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
so easy and my kids just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by francesw

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Success! I haven't ever had success with bread but try, try again. So glad I did! I ran out of white flour and had to use a cup of whole wheat and added a bit of wheat gluten I had purchased when my last bread failed. It turned out great and my picky son had two slices, still warm from the oven. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is a wonderful bread. Reading some reviews that said it was a little dense, I sifted the flour before measuring and also added the remaining flour one spoonful at a time. The batter is VERY sticky, so be aware. I also found the batter to be a bit salty, so I add less. Despite all of this, it is still 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States