Batter White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Recipe worked well I used all bread flour on 2nd rise let rise 45 minutes very soft interior with crusty exterior
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Loved this bread, simple and quick! First time rose on the counter & took a long time. Second time tried the tip of setting it in the oven with a bowl of hot water & that worked great! Cooked for about 35 min the second time. Giving 4 stars because it gets dry after a couple days. Best to be eaten right away or as toast after a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I was so glad to find this recipe, it is such a blessing! I have no mixer, no bread machine, and needed to work with very limited ingredients. This fit the bill perfectly. I followed the recipe, but I think I rushed it a bit and it could have risen a touch longer. As some other reviewers mentioned, my bread browned very quickly and I actually turned the oven off for the last ten minutes. I cut into a warm loaf and had a couple slices with butter and honey: awesome! I want to try using oil and less salt, as some reviews mentioned, and I might try wheat flour too. Overall I'm thinking this will replace store-bought bread for my family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Love this bread! Easy and fast for bread, tasty, with a nicely crunchy crust. I used canola oil instead of shortening and rapid rise yeast (cause that is what I had). I let it rise twice, once in the bowl and once in the pan, after I read some bread info online. It rose very well and was so pretty. It was too salty for me and I will reduce that the very next time I make it, which will be soon! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Trying to find an easy recipe to make with my 8 year old grand-daughter. This was so easy and delicious. The only difference is We kneaded the dough just a little so she could experience the joy of kneading bread....entire family ate and enjoyed the bread as it came out of the oven....My son also thought it was a little salty, but loved it just the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Great recipe Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
WONDERFUL bread! Super easy! A MUST try! Everyone loved it! It was gone the same day. I will be making many more times. I used coconut oil instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
very easy- very good!! my husband loves home made bread ..which i have failed over and over to make to his satisfaction. with this recipe he was happy and believe me... so was i. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Thanks for sharing this recipe. I tried it today and it taste great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
easy to make (though a little messy for me), served it with the Ukraine Borscht recipe. Amazing stuff. I'm going to stick with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States