Battenburg Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
It takes time and a little bit of patience, but it's worth it. Almond paste is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
Made this cake for my boyfriend for Christmas. His family was from England and this was as good as his mother's - not an easy accomplishment. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
My husband always looks forward to Irish relatives bringing him one of these cakes when they visit, so I made this for him for his birthday. The cake was a little denser than he was used to and the marzipan coating was not the same bright, uniform yellow that the Irish bakers seem to be able to get, but all in all the cake was a success. It tasted quite good! It is not, however, something you just whip up in a couple of minutes. Set aside an evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCLARKE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I usually buy this cake from a local shop that imports British foods. This cake tastes just as good as the one from the store! Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
Have made this cake three times now, each time it was a great success. I found it easier to roll the marzipan out between two sheets of glad wrap, which also helped when covering the sponge. I also added almond essence instead of vanilla. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
GREAT recipe - easy to make. Coming from England, now in Canada, this is very authentic - however, you must spread the apricot jam on the marzipan with a pastry brush before you wrap the cake in it - this helps it to stick to the cake and it also tastes delicious! Try it with raspberry jam too for an alternative. Also, the cake mix looks too stiff even with a little milk - but you need the cake to be firm and hold it's shape - so don't be fooled !!! The recipe is "spot on". Excellent ******
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
This recipe was great! It tasted just like the mini-battenburgs I had at a tea in England. Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Nyum nyum nyum - absolutely delicious! Battenburg cake is my favourite. Virgilio Anderson
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
okay this is absolutely biased because this is the only battenburg i'd ever tried. All my English friends loved it and it was really easy to make! Variation: Try flavouring the pink parts with strawberry essence and using strawberry jam! The result is amazing! YOu get a vanilla strawberry battenburg with delicious strawberry jame. Simply divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENISM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I'm going to try this with some children. Any tips? Thanks, Lauren
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States