Batman's Best Caesar Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Perfect! My husband and I LOVE this recipe! We also cut back to anout 1 cup olive oil, and up the sour cream a tad. A little tip... The longer you process it, the thickedr it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sami Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Delicious!! This was such a great Caesar dressing - full of flavor and kick, and tasted SO much better than anything store-bought! Like others, I had no anchovy paste, so I didn't (and wouldn't) use it. I do think the garlic could be scaled back just a tad, but that is probably just my personal preference. I also used less olive oil (about 1 c) because you could taste strong undertones of it, and upped the sour cream to about 5 Tbs. Super yummy and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is a great recipe! The only thing that I did different from the recipe was to add 1 egg yolk to help thicken it up a little. Like a lot of others I also think that next time I will cut the lemon juice in half. I will definately be using this recipe often in my home! I bet it would also make a great marinade for chicken!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
When I first make a recipe from AR, I like to make it as written so that I can give a fair review. I feel like others that it was a little tart. Next time I will cut the lemon juice in half. I also, like other reviewers, found the dressing really runny. After tasting the original recipe, I added a coddled egg. (This is a whole egg boiled for one minute to kill any salmonella that may be present). I added the whole coddled egg to the dressing and blended. This thickened up the dressing really well. Made it much better as a salad dressing, in my opinion. Thank you for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I took the advice of others and cut the lemon juice in half. I also added salt and pepper. this recipe is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I love Maggiano's caesar salad dressing and was hoping this recipe would be similar. I followed the recipe, with the exception of using a little yellow mustard in addition to the dry mustard that was called for. Also, after tasting the dressing, I thought it tasted too lemony (a combination of the lemon juice and the olive oil I think), so I added about a teaspoon of sugar to help get rid of that sour bite. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I do like the hint of Anchovy flavor in the dressing. It was a success, and very similar to the Maggiano's recipe. I even found myself scraping the bottom of the bowl to get out every last trace of dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Followed recipe exactly. Very good even my teenagers gobbled this one up. Overall though I still prefer caesar salad supreme from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Very good, easy and quick. I didn't have mustard powder so I added some dijon mustard, didn't have sour cream, added plain yougourt and didn't have anchovy past, added some capers. I blended everything in the blender except the oil, then poured the oil slowly into the dressing while the blender was on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I, personally, prefer to use 1/2 can of flat anchovies and a 4:1 ratio of oil to wine vinegar. I also kick it up with a full clove of chopped garlic and omit the sour cream. All goes in a food processor or are mashed between the tines of a fork just like table side service. It's a reputation maker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
It was okay. But just okay. It had flavor, but just not a lot of complexity or character.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States