Batman's Best Caesar Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Perfect! My husband and I LOVE this recipe! We also cut back to anout 1 cup olive oil, and up the sour cream a tad. A little tip... The longer you process it, the thickedr it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sami Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Delicious!! This was such a great Caesar dressing - full of flavor and kick, and tasted SO much better than anything store-bought! Like others, I had no anchovy paste, so I didn't (and wouldn't) use it. I do think the garlic could be scaled back just a tad, but that is probably just my personal preference. I also used less olive oil (about 1 c) because you could taste strong undertones of it, and upped the sour cream to about 5 Tbs. Super yummy and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is a great recipe! The only thing that I did different from the recipe was to add 1 egg yolk to help thicken it up a little. Like a lot of others I also think that next time I will cut the lemon juice in half. I will definately be using this recipe often in my home! I bet it would also make a great marinade for chicken!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
When I first make a recipe from AR, I like to make it as written so that I can give a fair review. I feel like others that it was a little tart. Next time I will cut the lemon juice in half. I also, like other reviewers, found the dressing really runny. After tasting the original recipe, I added a coddled egg. (This is a whole egg boiled for one minute to kill any salmonella that may be present). I added the whole coddled egg to the dressing and blended. This thickened up the dressing really well. Made it much better as a salad dressing, in my opinion. Thank you for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I took the advice of others and cut the lemon juice in half. I also added salt and pepper. this recipe is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I love Maggiano's caesar salad dressing and was hoping this recipe would be similar. I followed the recipe, with the exception of using a little yellow mustard in addition to the dry mustard that was called for. Also, after tasting the dressing, I thought it tasted too lemony (a combination of the lemon juice and the olive oil I think), so I added about a teaspoon of sugar to help get rid of that sour bite. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I do like the hint of Anchovy flavor in the dressing. It was a success, and very similar to the Maggiano's recipe. I even found myself scraping the bottom of the bowl to get out every last trace of dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Followed recipe exactly. Very good even my teenagers gobbled this one up. Overall though I still prefer caesar salad supreme from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Very good, easy and quick. I didn't have mustard powder so I added some dijon mustard, didn't have sour cream, added plain yougourt and didn't have anchovy past, added some capers. I blended everything in the blender except the oil, then poured the oil slowly into the dressing while the blender was on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I, personally, prefer to use 1/2 can of flat anchovies and a 4:1 ratio of oil to wine vinegar. I also kick it up with a full clove of chopped garlic and omit the sour cream. All goes in a food processor or are mashed between the tines of a fork just like table side service. It's a reputation maker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
It was okay. But just okay. It had flavor, but just not a lot of complexity or character.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyRandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States