Batman's Best Caesar Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is one of the 3 caesar dressings we tried out today and it was pretty darn good (it took second place in our household...the third place one was waaaay behind). I am still unsure how I feel about the sour cream but over all it was good. We did not have anchovy paste on hand so we used 2 actual anchovy filets. We did feel that there was a bit too much oil involved and it seemed to separate quite easily (almost visually unappealing) so be sure to shake it before using. Although we liked the taste of this one, we probably won't be making it again. It IS worth a try though. We found one that we like a bit better so we will be sticking with that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeeplette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This was a really good caesar! I halved the recipe and it was more than enough to nicely coat the large salad I made. I couldn't find anchovy paste unfortunately. After tasting it at first, I felt it was a bit too sour from the lemon, so I just added about a tablespoon of sugar and it balanced it out nicely. I will be putting it in my recipe book, and I would definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaunaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made a quarter batch of this for one salad but added 3 times as much garlic as the recipe calls for. If I hadn't over done it on the garlic it would have been perfect! I'll just do double garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I love caesar salad!! but this recipe is nothing like it. not good at all :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
It was okay. If I made it again I would cut the amount of olive oil in half and maybe use a mix of EVO & Veg oil.I was getting an overpowering of the oil. If your a garlic lover you may want to put in another couple of cloves. I will look for a different recipe for Caesar dressing before making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mohney138

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Excellent recipe! I did cut back by half on the Anchovy paste based on reviews I read and I added a pinch of Cayenne Pepper. Absolutely wonderful. Thank you ~ Bonnie in Mazatlan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Caesar is my favorite dressing. I only do a cup of Olive oil and increase the Garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shifter33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cameron Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I really liked this- I made 1/3 recipe to test it out-just in case..I was worried about the generous anchovy allotment so for a 1/3 recipe I only used about a scant 1/2 tsp-and I thought this was almost too much for my tastes-but still good. To me I think the recipe as-is gives you a "Caesar vineagrette" which is very good but more of an oil consistency. I've had something similar in restaurants but I've also had the "creamy Caesar dressings" too- so to get a bit more creaminess-and to soften the anchovy flavor a bit more-I added a little more sour cream. For the finished salad I did add extra Parmesan and I was so I very impressed!! Both versions were good-whether you keep the recipe with mostly olive oil or add additional aour cream. All in all, this recipe is far better than most bottled, fresh, or restaurant versions. Thanks so much-super easy to make and so much cheaper than buying bottle after bottle after bottle...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This dressing is amazing! We had to go buy more salad because we could not stop eating it! I adjusted this recipe by using just over 1/2 cup oil (just seemed like way too much oil), used 3 anchovies and fat free sour cream. It's like having a quality restaurant salad at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I halved this recipe for my husband and me and it made 4 entree-sized salads for us (yum, leftovers!). I omitted the anchovy paste even though I love it - I couldn't find mine anywhere! I'll plan on adding it to taste next time, because the dressing was delicious without it. I added salt and pepper to taste as well. I love that this recipe doesn't use mayo, which I hate. Thanks for sharing! This will be my go-to caesar dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessbride029

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States