Bat Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Very easy dessert even though I didn't do them perfectly. I think these are great and easy for Hallowe'en. I just didn't want to take the time to put the eyes on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Cute idea, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
These were very cute and easy to make. My 4 year old son had a blast. WE got lots of compliments on these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Serra Zaccardelli
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
THESE CUPCAKES WERE A BIG HIT AT MY SON'S KINDERGARTEN HALLOWEEN PARTY. I WILL USE A YELLOW CAKE BATTER NEXT TIME AS MY WHOLE CUPCAKE WAS CHOCOLATE. THIS RECIPE WAS VERY EASY AND NOT VERY TIME CONSUMING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Serra Zaccardelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was a great and cute recipe. I took some to my daughter's preschool Halloween party and they were a big hit! I didnt have the red gel, so I used red tic-tacs for the eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bay Springs, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was so easy and so cute. I made these for my family and my 4 year old and I passed them out to neighborhoods kids as well. Everyone thought they were sooooo cute and clever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHEATFIELDS
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Hi folks, I'm sorry you are having such a hard time with these cupcakes. Maybe this will help. I frost the cupcakes and you can use actually any color or flavor but I usually use chocolate. I either break the cookies in half or cut them in half. The solid chocolate side of the cookie is facing towards the front of the cupcake. I insert one 'point' of the cookie into the cupcake with the wing curve curving out )( to the edges of the cupcake. If the cupcake is big enough I make them meet in the middle, if they haven't risen well, I will overlap them slightly. I put 2 'wings' on the cupcake about 3/4 the way in from the front to the back leaving 1/4 of the cupcake behind the cookies. Then I put an unwrapped chocolate kiss with the flat bottom up against the cookie wings. I give it a little shove to help it set - this leaves the point of the kiss facing front. All you have left is to put 2 dots of red icing on either side of the pointy nose and they are done. I will continue to try to upload a picture. I have been having some difficulty with that. I hope this helps. Wheatfields
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cimarron, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I agree that there needs to be a picture or better instructions. I tried everything to make these look like bats. Several people told me they looked like turkeys so maybe I'll make them for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Since this whole recipe is the bat thing, I am rating it low. I will claim to be a good cook, but I don't have an artistic bone in my body and I could not get my 2 cookie halves and a hershey kiss to resemble a bat in any way shape or form. This recipe definitely needs a picture AND more specific instructions. (Point facing "forward." What is that???) Sorry but I just couldn't get it to work. Also, if I ever do get something that looks like a bat, I'd probably use white or orange frosting so you can actually see it, instead of the dark background of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This recipe needs a picture of the finished cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States