Bat Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
So easy to make & what a hit at school!! I made these for my daughter's 2nd grade class party and the kids loved them. The moms wondered when I had time to do anything other than cook these but they were so simple! I used chocolate cake mix for the muffins but white/vanilla frosting so the bats stood out. The hardest part of this recipe was cutting/breaking the cookies in 1/2 and not have them be lop-sided. I went through an entire pkg of fudge stripes for just 24 cupcakes but got enough perfect 'wings' in the end. Super-yummy too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
These were a hit at the Halloween party I went to this year! I used dark chocolate frosting and for the cookies I used chocolate doughnut cookies with white frosting stripes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Awesome! Delicious and adorable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I made these for my ten year old daughter's class Halloween party... when her older sister saw them, she begged me to make them for her class, too! They were so easy to make and so cute -- the teachers and office staff at the schools raved about how cute they were! I bought plain chocolate wafer cookies (Nabisco) for the wings, but did use the Hersey's kiss for the head/face and red gel for the eyes. The gel can be dotted on much easier than tube icing plus the gel has a glow which makes the eyes appear "scary". This recipe will be a Halloween tradition from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
What a great idea for Halloween cupcakes! They were so fun to make and tasted great. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
We have a tradition of decorating cupcakes for halloween. These are the best we've tried so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
These came out so darn cute!! Thanks for the photos - I never would have figured out how to assemble them. As it was, I first laid the cookies on top of the cupcake instead of inserting them vertically - DUH! Much less time consuming than the spider cupcakes I've made in the past. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamafalzone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wells, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: I thought I'd mention the problems I've had the first time around, so they can turn out perfect for you :) Like, use a sharp knife in a sawing motion along the whole width of cookie while cutting. Go SLOWLY! That way you don't run out or waste any cookies because they weren't cut down the middle correctly! Make sure you don't get the generic brand cookies either b/c they don't have a hole in the middle making the shape you need! Also, it helps to have the hersheys unwrapped and cookies cut for the 24 cupcakes (or however many - that's just the amount a normal cake batter makes). That way you can do them all at once, which means less handling (messing up your wings), and you can stick in the fridge! I also like sticking the wings INTO the cupcake and straight up, followed by the hershey kiss in front of it so the kiss doesn't rise up (tips tends to rise up if you angle it at all instead of putting them flat)! Everyone at my husband's office loved them and thought I was sooo creative. hehehehe Such a great idea that doesn't take too much work. Made these along with the spider cupcakes on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
oh yeah! these were great! i used hersheys hugs instead...it looks more detailed.. and they are super easy to put together. i found the wings stayed on better by slicing a hole to insert them in.these cupcakes earned lots of complements!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahiswright
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Very cute! These turned out great, and everyone commented on how cute they were. I will make these every year! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States