Basque Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Wonderful salad! I cut the oil in half, doubled the cucumbers and tomatoes, and used red onion instead of the white. When it was all done, it was very colorful. I took it to a summer dinner party and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I followed the recipe loosely, using it as a general guideline to suit my own taste and in consideration of the ingredients I either had available or wanted to make a point of using. I used red, yellow and orange bell peppers, sliced red onion for color and NO tomato – didn’t have it, but wouldn’t have used it anyway. I was fairly satisfied with the look of the salad, but thought it needed some “punch.” A handful of ripe black olives took care of that. As for the dressing, I merely shook on some salt, pepper, oregano and basil (didn’t have marjoram and never have). I skipped the sugar - I don’t care for it in my salad dressings. I drizzled on the vinegar (always vinegar first) and then the olive oil to my liking. (My preference is a ratio of 3:1 of olive oil to vinegar) This salad satisfied both my goals of cleaning up the odds and ends in my vegetable crisper lickety-split as well as being a nutritious, fresh and colorful addition to our dinner tonight. I particularly like the simple herb vinaigrette and the submitter’s directions to THINLY SLICE the vegetables (as opposed to chopping them all up as others have done) – it gave the salad a beautiful appearance, with each ingredient seeming to take center stage. I can’t think of too many entrees that this salad wouldn’t complement nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
What an excellent, beautiful little salad! I served it over arugula and used shallot (instead of onion) and fresh herbs. I also reduced the dressing by 1/3 (but kept the herbs the same), which was just right. The herbs and shallot gave it so much flavor, and the arugula complemented it wonderfully. This was perfect with chianti and Artichoke and Spinach Lasagna, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
my husband and I loved this salad although he is not a big fan of onions so I did leave them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I hoped this would be tasty because it contains such a lively and tasty mix of vegetable, but the dressing with this recipe is awful. The amount of dressing was completely disproportionate to the salad--way too much. Also, the dressing itself was much too oily and bland. Next time, I will definitely use a different dressing with the solid vegetable premise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
great flavor but the slices just wilted and got mushy. i think i might just chop or dice everything next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I've also had this salad at Chateau Basque on Union many moons ago. I remember my parents taking me to the Woolgrowers in the 60's. We all ate at long tables family style. My favorite was the lamb meatballs. Thank you for reviving good memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Very good and fairly versatile with veggies you have on hand. I always keep a jar of the sauce in the fridge for quick prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexander, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This smelled great, looked beautiful, and tasted fantastic. The sweetness of the peppers and the acid of the vinegar were balanced beautifully. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Had to try this recipe since I live here in Bakersfield. Made it for a group of people when we had a Basque soup night. It was fantastic. I am not a vinegar person but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States