Basque Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Was pretty good but felt like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Awesome salad! I served mine over arugula and ate it for lunch throughout the week, keeping the dressing separate until I was ready to eat. This is a very fresh and crisp salad, it will definitely be in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I did the opposite of some reviewers, and I left the vinegar/oil just how the author of the recipe suggested, however, after adding the seasonings and tasting, I decided to double those. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Loved it after a few changes....added one can of back olives and 1 small jar marinated artichokes drained and chopped... I also used a red onion. Did not do the dressing as instructed because other reviewers said it was too much and bland....I did 2 tbs vinegar, 6 tbs olive oil, 1-2 crushed garlic cloves, 1 tsp (salt free) garlic and herb seasoning, 1 tsp oregano, 1 tsp sugar, and 1 tsp dried basil and salt and pepper to taste. Dressing was the perfect amount after those changes. Veggie lovers will love this salad. Now it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Delicious! Used less oil as other reviewers recommended. Otherwise, followed exactly. This is a recipe I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Marinating it overnight is the best way to do it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This salad reminds me a salad that is very popular in Russia, and dressing is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I really enjoyed this salad, it's beautiful to look at and the dressing is quite tasty. This is definitely a salad for summertime, and it can go with a lot of different entrees. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I followed the recipe loosely, using it as a general guideline to suit my own taste and in consideration of the ingredients I either had available or wanted to make a point of using. I used red, yellow and orange bell peppers, sliced red onion for color and NO tomato – didn’t have it, but wouldn’t have used it anyway. I was fairly satisfied with the look of the salad, but thought it needed some “punch.” A handful of ripe black olives took care of that. As for the dressing, I merely shook on some salt, pepper, oregano and basil (didn’t have marjoram and never have). I skipped the sugar - I don’t care for it in my salad dressings. I drizzled on the vinegar (always vinegar first) and then the olive oil to my liking. (My preference is a ratio of 3:1 of olive oil to vinegar) This salad satisfied both my goals of cleaning up the odds and ends in my vegetable crisper lickety-split as well as being a nutritious, fresh and colorful addition to our dinner tonight. I particularly like the simple herb vinaigrette and the submitter’s directions to THINLY SLICE the vegetables (as opposed to chopping them all up as others have done) – it gave the salad a beautiful appearance, with each ingredient seeming to take center stage. I can’t think of too many entrees that this salad wouldn’t complement nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Love it. Being from Bakersfield & now living in TX, anything from Woolgrowers is a hit for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States