Basque Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Awesome salad! I served mine over arugula and ate it for lunch throughout the week, keeping the dressing separate until I was ready to eat. This is a very fresh and crisp salad, it will definitely be in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I did the opposite of some reviewers, and I left the vinegar/oil just how the author of the recipe suggested, however, after adding the seasonings and tasting, I decided to double those. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Loved it after a few changes....added one can of back olives and 1 small jar marinated artichokes drained and chopped... I also used a red onion. Did not do the dressing as instructed because other reviewers said it was too much and bland....I did 2 tbs vinegar, 6 tbs olive oil, 1-2 crushed garlic cloves, 1 tsp (salt free) garlic and herb seasoning, 1 tsp oregano, 1 tsp sugar, and 1 tsp dried basil and salt and pepper to taste. Dressing was the perfect amount after those changes. Veggie lovers will love this salad. Now it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Delicious! Used less oil as other reviewers recommended. Otherwise, followed exactly. This is a recipe I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Marinating it overnight is the best way to do it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This salad reminds me a salad that is very popular in Russia, and dressing is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I really enjoyed this salad, it's beautiful to look at and the dressing is quite tasty. This is definitely a salad for summertime, and it can go with a lot of different entrees. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I followed the recipe loosely, using it as a general guideline to suit my own taste and in consideration of the ingredients I either had available or wanted to make a point of using. I used red, yellow and orange bell peppers, sliced red onion for color and NO tomato – didn’t have it, but wouldn’t have used it anyway. I was fairly satisfied with the look of the salad, but thought it needed some “punch.” A handful of ripe black olives took care of that. As for the dressing, I merely shook on some salt, pepper, oregano and basil (didn’t have marjoram and never have). I skipped the sugar - I don’t care for it in my salad dressings. I drizzled on the vinegar (always vinegar first) and then the olive oil to my liking. (My preference is a ratio of 3:1 of olive oil to vinegar) This salad satisfied both my goals of cleaning up the odds and ends in my vegetable crisper lickety-split as well as being a nutritious, fresh and colorful addition to our dinner tonight. I particularly like the simple herb vinaigrette and the submitter’s directions to THINLY SLICE the vegetables (as opposed to chopping them all up as others have done) – it gave the salad a beautiful appearance, with each ingredient seeming to take center stage. I can’t think of too many entrees that this salad wouldn’t complement nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Love it. Being from Bakersfield & now living in TX, anything from Woolgrowers is a hit for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Excellent salad! Great with garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States