Basque Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
It's my son's favorite recipe! We first made it for the Feast of St. Ignatius and I've made it several times since then! Easy but looks impressive! I used a piping bag for the batter and cream to ensure even distribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This was very sweet, it kinda tasted like Tapioca pudding, my family didn't care for it. We are Spanish Basque, my grandfather came from Ibarranguela so I thought I would try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Totorica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This was a very simple and tasty recipe. Despite what some reviewers claim. Butter was not missed at all. You don't need butter. A simple recipe with simple ingredients and a classic flavor that's sure to please a crowd. Follow exactly and you'll be amazed. Tips: Be gentle and take your time. You must add the 1/2 cup milk to the egg mixture first (it will help keep your custard smooth) Make the bottom layer of batter a little thinner than you think. This will make it easier to cover the top completely. Don't slam the custard down into the bottom layer. Spoon it out carefully OR use a pastry bag. When applying the top layer of batter, start from the edges and work to the middle. It will help make sure the edges are sealed. Gently drag the batter towards the middle, when/if you have to. I didn't have a pastry bag when I prepared this, but I wish I did. If you have a lot of experience baking, I could see the desire to modify the recipe. I, however, almost always try it "as is" first. This recipe really needs no modifications at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetroitTigress
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This was indeed truly something different. I read previous reviews and decided to add a generous dose of Almond extract to the custard--without this I feel the flavor would have been bland. I would also try lemon extract but my family prefers almond. I'm not much of a baker and I was very proud of myself for the way it turned out. Other than the almond extract, I followed this step by step and it turned out great! tastes wonderful with coffee. What I like most about this recipe is that it only needs a few basic ingredients, you can whip this up without having to go to the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
As another reviewer suggested, I added a block of butter. i also reduced sthe sugar in both the pastry cream and cake, so it wouldn't be as sweet as others suggested the original recipe was. I don't know what an authentic Basque cake should taste like, but my husband and guests like the resulting product. It was unique and eye-appealing. The cake had a crispy quality that was a nice contrast to the surprise of thr pastry cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
The first time I tried this recipe, I didn't read the reviews first, and my cake came out with the cake and cream mushed together. So I tried again, this time with butter added to the cake dough, but the result was still the same. I think perhaps there is too much pastry cream, and it overwhelms the cake. I am going to look for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I am giving this 5 stars for taste, but I had a problem. I followed the directions exactly but now wish I had used self-rising flour. The cake turned out to be a gooey mess with no "cake" texture at all. My baking powder is fresh, so I have no idea what happened. Any suggestions are welcomed because I would like to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Extremely yummy! Very sweet.. kind of reminds me of buttermilk pie. I didn't have a spring form pan so I used an 8 in glass baking dish and cooked for about 40 mins total. Husband and two year old loved it too! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbdahill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscumbia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marie Taylor
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This cake was very different to make, but the result was amazing. When pouring the batter into the pan, it seems like there is barely enough to encase the pastry filling, but there is--just make sure to completely seal in the filling. The only change I made was to add about half a cup of butter to the batter, because in all other recipes I found, they usually have some. I don't know how much difference it made, but a perfect cake came out with a beautiful layer of pastry in between. Very unusual texture and flavor--people who like it love it, but some don't. I loved it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This cake seemed to have great potential, but I would not make it again. The pastry filling did not bake into the cake despite another person stating that it did. I had to cook an additional 10 minutes for it to even fully set beneath the crispy top. It has a slightly rubbery texture. The flavor isn't bad, it's just the combination of the consistency and texture that's not appealing. When making the filling, it is imperative to stir the mixture constantly or else it will burn very quickly. When it is returned to the stove top for the second time, make sure to cook over low heat instead of heating to boiling then reducing to medium. You will end up with a burnt, curdled mess! I've never had an authentic Basque cake so it's difficult to rate for comparative purposes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States