Basmati and Snow Pea Stir Fry with Teriyaki Chicken Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was very good! The meatballs had a great flavor. I did omit the carrots...just personal preference. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My family really liked this recip...but not as much as when I make stir fry with chiclen and shrimp...but they did eat it and liked it. I'm not sure if it was bbcuz of the meatballs or my homemade teriyaki sauce...maybe both...I always keep some made in the freezer so this was an easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Photo by jennbo
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was a tasty little dish! I used whole wheat basmati instead of white and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
The over all dish was pretty good. The chicken meatballs keep their firmness which is a plus and have a generous ginger flavor. I doubled the amount of sauce, and did not add the snow peas. My only suggestion would be to brown the meatballs before adding the other ingredients. I think it makes for a nicer presentation and gives the meatballs a little more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I made this for my teenage sons and it was gone in a flash. Simple and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was pretty good. I was so tempted to throw additional vegetables, onions, or even garlic in but decided to follow the recipe exactly, as possible. It didn't need them. It was fast for me to make, because I had rice leftover and red peppers already sliced from the freezer I defrosted. I used baby carrots and sliced them into small matchsticks. So, the meatballs didn't roll around I cut them in half. The cook times were right, except I had to cook the carrots and peppers for at least 5 minutes. I used an 8oz pack of fresh snow peas, so I steamed them in the microwave for 6 minutes before using. When I went to add the sauce, I realized I only had 1/3 cup left. The amount was fine. The only thing is, it only made 3 servings and not 6. Also, I noticed a slight hot kickback. I found that odd because the meatballs and the hoison sauce are both sweet. It is also a tad salty, but that is to be expected with precooked meat and bottled sauce. I would consider making it again, though, just for how quick it was to make and it did have plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
The recipe lists hoisin sauce, but the instructions say "...and add TERIYAKI or hoisin sauce" so I added half of each. Hoisin is thick and even with the teriyaki, the sauce was too thick, so I added some water to thin it to a sauce consistency. I added a little pineapple which was in the fridge and a chopped peanut garnish. These meatballs are fully-cooked, so I don’t understand why the instructions tell you to brown them in a skillet...they’re already brown (and cooked). If the meatballs are too cold, I’d prefer just to heat them up a little bit in the microwave before proceeding with the rest of the recipe. This is good, but I think it could be greatly improved just by taking a little extra time to make one of the many “asian” sauces that are on the AR site rather than relying on just hoisin or teriyaki sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was a little too sweet for us. I tried tweaking the sauce with some garlic powder, some soy sauce and some chili garlic paste, but it was still a little too sweet for me. DS liked it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Really great recipe! Unfortunately, the Al Fresco meatballs aren't available in my area, so I made my own teriyaki ginger chicken meatballs and it was quite yummy. I didn't have any basmati rice on hand, so I doctored some brown rice with chicken broth, soy sauce, and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is really good! I added a 16 oz bag of frozen Sugar Snap Pea stir fry in stead of messing with all the veggies. Worked great. I did make extra sauce. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States