Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Really good. Let's the flavor of the rice shine through. I added more peas though since 1/4 cup didn't seem like enough. Also used ground cumin since I didn't have the seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Really Great Recipe! If you saute some onion and cumin seed together then add it to the rice. Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stagecoach, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe and followed the directions except I used ground cumin and added frozen peas and carrots...it was a huge hit at my house even with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Very good and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
The flavor of cumin was overpowering and was the only thing I could taste. The rice was bland and lacked flavor. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I served this rice with a chickpea curry and it was the perfect addition. I cooked the rice with veggie broth instead of water to give it some more flavor, and I used 1/2 tsp of ground cumin which was all I had on hand. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
It came out really nice, but a significant portion of the rice ended up stuck to the pot. Is there a way to avoid this? Am I using the wrong kind of pot? Anyway, the rice itself was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Not a huge rice fan but decided to make this for father's day. It was very good. I used cumin powder based on another reader's reveiw and that worked all well. The rice was flavored throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Decent basmati rice. I made this using brown basmati. After presoaking the rice for half an hour, and straining it, I added the water. 3/4 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tsp salt, and a half Tbsp of vegetable oil. After the rice cooked, I fluffed it and stirred in the hot, cooked peas. Great with curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
A pretty nice, but simple side dish. I made it to accompany the Curried Coconut Chicken recipe from this site. I made it exactly as written. This was also the first time I'd ever used cumin seeds. I've used a lot of ground cumin in Mexican recipes, and found the cumin seeds here to be a very nice taste. One problem, though; the rice developed a stuck-on layer in the bottom of the saucepan, so I wish I'd stirred it a little during cooking. Overall, though, a very nice recipe, and worth remembering for future meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States