Basmati Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Pretty basic recipe. I would normally have added a can of mushrooms but wanted to follow the recipe more closely the first time. I did however use beef broth instead of chicken because that goes with the rest of dinner better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This was my first time making basmati rice and it turned out great. I usually use chicken stock in my regular rice and the bay leaf added great flavor. Thanks for sharing, will be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Really yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Best recipient ever. Not too fancy but a wonderful change to a plain side dish. Great flavour especially if you caramelize the onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was a very good rice pilaf recipe. These are the changes I made: I added about 1 teaspoon of tomato paste and 1/2 teaspoon of curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This is a good basic recipe but I made the mistake of making it with brown basmati rice which I've found out take much more water to cook properly. I followed the recipe and luckily checked on it while it was simmering and found that all of the water was gone and the rice had started to burn. I added more liquid and was able to save the dish. It took much longer to cook though also. Lesson learned. I would give it more stars if not for this mishap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I used butter instead of vegetable oil and beef broth instead of chicken (I made meat loaf with beef, I wanted to match all the flavors of dinner together). I also threw in one minced clove of garlic in with the onion. The rice turned out great, the family ate every bit of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Very good-even my two four year olds, who are very picky eaters, loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Easy and fast... What's not to like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
There's nothing wrong with this but it's really nothing more than rice cooked in broth with a little onion added. Fairly basic, average and nondescript. I used butter for flavor rather than vegetable oil and added peas, red bell pepper and a pinch of saffron to jazz it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States