Basil and Sun-dried Tomato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out delicious! The trick is to follow the recommendations for your bread maker. Mine has a specific order of which ingredients are to be added. Liquid, dry, yeast last and tomatoes after the bread maker beeps the first time. I will most definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This bread is a great idea but poorly executed. By the time I was finished making adjustments it was no longer the same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Following Maggie McGuire's advice, this came out pretty good. I had no wheat bran, so I subbed ground flax, and I added 2 Tbsp olive oil, 3 Tbsp gluten (as I had only regular flour on hand) 1 tbsp honey, 1/4 cup grated parmesan and 3/4 tsp garlic powder. I also goofed on the yeast - adding a tbsp - but it came out fine. Good flavor, not too dense but still hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I followed Maggie McGuires suggestions. Three things I have learned in baking bread, whether in the bread machine or by hand, is to use Rapid Rise Yeast and to proof it in 1/4 cup of the liquid called for in the recipe at the temperature of 120 degrees and no higher than 130 degrees and use flour designed for bread making. Use a thermometer. When using wheat products in the recipe or heavier grains such as oats I use gluten. A lot of people are allergic to these products but if you are not then use them. I rarely have a problem. I store my bread in the refrig. because we don't eat a lot of it and since there are no preservatives you need to do this. You can also freeze sliced bread in air tight zip locks. Enjoy bread making. It is enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
My bread didn't rise like some of the others' but the flavor is pretty good. I don't know if I will try it again. Otherwise do some of the modifications immedietly without trying the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is pretty good. I use the dough cycle on my bread machine for most breads, and I used it for this bread too. I added vital wheat gluten to compensate for the fact that I don't have bread flour. It's generally 1 tbsp per cup of flour. The quinoa makes this bread chewy; I kind of like it. I didn't chop the sundried tomatoes and just used the ones in oil; worked fine and I didn't drain them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ahmilya
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This recipe worked for me because I tinkered with it. I prepped and baked it manually. I dissolved the yeast with 2 tbsp of sugar, then added 2 tbsp of olive oil to that, then added all the dry ingredients and extras. I also added 4 or 5 cloves of garlic. I added gluten by substituting a cup of whole wheat flour for a cup of bread flour. It's a little heavier than I usually like, but it's awesome bread. It smelled amazing in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
The bread smelled delicious but did not raise almost at all, even I have added gluten to make it easier. Maybe because I replaced quinoa with whole wheat (it suppose to be kind of healthy grain). Well, it wasn't really eatable because of structure, tasting it revealed possibly very good flavor. Sorry it did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I followed the advice of pervious reviewers and used 2T gluten, 1T sugar, and 1t garlic powder and this bread actually came out pretty good. It turns a very pretty orange color from the tomatoes, and the bits of basil and quinoa give it a very unique and pretty look, too. I don't suggest leaving the quinoa out; it gives it a nice look and texture, and you can find it in the organic section of your market shelved with other grains. I made this by hand and made 16 dinner rolls that I baked on my pizza stone at 375 for 25 minutes. I brushed the tops of them with some egg white and they had a great brown crust on top when they were done. I'll be sure to make these again, maybe with the addition of some jalapenos or some red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I took a few bites and threw the rest away. I followed the recipe as written, I may have used the wrong setting on my breadmaker as it turned out heavy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States