Basil and Pesto Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Didn't have fresh basil but did have some pesto that I had prepared with fresh basil. I too thought that the hummus needed more oil to spread well and I also added a tsp or so of lemon juice to brighten the fresh taste. Blended in feta cheese by hand before serving. I took this to an office luncheon and received compliments. Will make this again once I have an abundance of basil from the garden...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was excellent! I doubled the garlic, soy sauce, and balsamic vinegar for extra flavor. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is absolutely delicious, especially served on a slice of homemade french bread!!! I did have a few changes to the recipe, however. First of all, I did not have any balsamic vinegar on hand, so I used red wine vinegar instead. Secondly, while pureeing the mixture, it became very dry, so I added water until it was the desired consistency. Other than those two changes, the recipe was fantastic! I made this for Christmas, and everyone loved it's amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is a basil hummus. This needs quite a bit of liquid added to this in order to get it to blend to the right smoothness. I like the taste of the fresh basil, but this hummus needed some work. I did end up adding a dash of cumin and a good amount of lemon and a tablespoon or so of tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was good and quick. I do agree that lemon juice is necessary. Served with celery and carrots, was a yummy & healthy option next to the other high-fat appetizers that I served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Delicious, unique hummus. I had some fresh basil to use up and this was a great use for it. Like other reviewers, I added some lemon juice, plus a little extra oil and water to achieve a smoother texture. I also added a dash of hot sauce for a little added dimension. Thanks, Dan, for an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CapreseStacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was soooooo good! I added more olive oil, one more clove of garlic and the juice of a whole lemon. I loved the garlic and basil flavor in this hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Awesome! It was gone in a day. I eyeballed all the ingredients, didn't measure exactly. Would be great to mix and match different herbs and seasonings...I'll definitely be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I wish that I could give this waaaaay more than 5 stars! This was by FAR the best hummus recipe I've ever encountered and let me tell you, I live, eat and BREATHE hummus! I was incredibly skeptical at the lack of tahini paste, however, this hummus didn't need it one bit. Also didn't ned the lemon juice people commented about. If you're looking for a little more "zing" simply double up on the soy sauce and basalmic. If you find it too dry, add some water (tastes the same, no calories!) Thanks for an incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Yum! This is a fantastic hummus-type dip that whips up in about 5 minutes. Over time I have made some adjustments to suit my particular tastes: I add 2 cloves garlic, 3 tablespoons olive oil (this makes it very rich, and gives it a great texture), 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar, and 2 teaspoons soy sauce. I also add a few squirts of lemon juice. The most important advice I can about this recipe is to make sure you use a *packed* 1/2 cup of basil. Measure the basil until it fills the 1/2 cup totally packed down. This gives it the perfect basil-y flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States