Basil and Pesto Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I was never really into hummus before but thought I'd give it a try. I wanted something a little healthier to snack on. I'm glad I decided to try it. I can't wait for my husband to try it, he loves when I make new recipes and I know he will love it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harveys Lake, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very refreshing... I added 2 tbsp of olive oil, 1/2 tsp lemon juice, 1 tsp of balsamic, and skipped the soy sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I made this exactly as written and found it extremely bland. I'm used to more traditional tahini-based hummus with parsley and lemon juice, but had a lot of basil to use up and thought I'd give it a whirl. Ended up adding some tahini, cayenne pepper, lemon juice, and extra basalmic, and the end result was better, but still not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I think this is a good idea in theory, but not the best recipe. I ended up adding extra basil, garlic, and olive oil, plus some lemon juice, parmesan, and pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Yum. All i did was double the balsamic, soy sauce and olive oil and it came out excellent. Hubby liked it too. Might be my fav so far. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
A yummy and easy hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Delicious, unique hummus. I had some fresh basil to use up and this was a great use for it. Like other reviewers, I added some lemon juice, plus a little extra oil and water to achieve a smoother texture. I also added a dash of hot sauce for a little added dimension. Thanks, Dan, for an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CapreseStacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I wish that I could give this waaaaay more than 5 stars! This was by FAR the best hummus recipe I've ever encountered and let me tell you, I live, eat and BREATHE hummus! I was incredibly skeptical at the lack of tahini paste, however, this hummus didn't need it one bit. Also didn't ned the lemon juice people commented about. If you're looking for a little more "zing" simply double up on the soy sauce and basalmic. If you find it too dry, add some water (tastes the same, no calories!) Thanks for an incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
delicious and refreshing! added lemon juice as suggested and really brightens the basil flavors. ate on top of broccoli and sandwiches and so many other things. will definitely serve as an appetizer for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Only 4 *s because my husband said it had a funny aftertaste. I think it was the basil. But I loved it! Then again I like basil more than he does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States