Basil and Pesto Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
meh...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Came out a little thick- could probably use more oil. The flavor was great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Pretty good recipe...flavor-wise. It defintiely needed more olive oil, and I added some more balsamic vinegar. Loved the flavor combinations though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Starkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was soooooo good! I added more olive oil, one more clove of garlic and the juice of a whole lemon. I loved the garlic and basil flavor in this hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
You have to add liquid for this to work and it's quite bland. Lemon juice helps a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Very easy and tastes great! A bit lighter than some that I've made. I added a tbsp of veggie broth to help mix it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This was my first attempt at making hummus. I didn't have balsamic vinegar so I skipped it. I added a splash of lemon juice, and some paprika (because I love paprika!). I think I added a lot more olive oil than 1 tbsp because it seemed awful dry. Overall it had a really good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was good and quick. I do agree that lemon juice is necessary. Served with celery and carrots, was a yummy & healthy option next to the other high-fat appetizers that I served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Love it! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I squeezed half a lemon into it. I make hummus a lot and this one's definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is absolutely delicious, especially served on a slice of homemade french bread!!! I did have a few changes to the recipe, however. First of all, I did not have any balsamic vinegar on hand, so I used red wine vinegar instead. Secondly, while pureeing the mixture, it became very dry, so I added water until it was the desired consistency. Other than those two changes, the recipe was fantastic! I made this for Christmas, and everyone loved it's amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States