Basil and Pesto Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I don't have a blender or a food processor, but that's okay! I love a chunky, thick hummus. I thought the liquid measurements were perfect. It was a very unique combination of flavours. Delicious on some toasted crusty bread with a side of tomato soup. As a hint for those also mashing this by hand or with limited tools: do not chop up the garlic. Take a small plastic bag (for sandwiches, for example), put in a clove of garlic, and smash that sucker until it's nice and pulpy. Mashed/pressed garlic carries a stronger, fuller flavour than chopped garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enronadon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
4 stars because I changed it. I used cider vinegar instead of balsamic and LOVED it!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Awesome! It was gone in a day. I eyeballed all the ingredients, didn't measure exactly. Would be great to mix and match different herbs and seasonings...I'll definitely be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is a basil hummus. This needs quite a bit of liquid added to this in order to get it to blend to the right smoothness. I like the taste of the fresh basil, but this hummus needed some work. I did end up adding a dash of cumin and a good amount of lemon and a tablespoon or so of tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I bought a bag of pita chips and needed something to dip them in. Plus my basil plant needed a bit of a trim. This recipie was a winner! I had all the ingredients on hand and it whipped up pretty quickly. There is definitely not enough liquid in this recipe, though. I put in closer to 4 or 5 tablespoons of olive oil and twice as much balsamic and soy, and still streamed into the food processor probably close to 1/4 cup of water. (I never measure anything..) I also added a splash of lemon juice and some red pepper flakes because as written, this is definitely missing *something*. I am definitely happy I decided to make this, it was the perfect dip to my chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This hummus is absolutely amazing! I added more olive oil because it was a little too dry for my liking, but an amazing and flavorful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is awesome, I made this for a vegetarian friend, I am not a hummus lover but loved this hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Didn't really care for this. Others liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Yum! This is a fantastic hummus-type dip that whips up in about 5 minutes. Over time I have made some adjustments to suit my particular tastes: I add 2 cloves garlic, 3 tablespoons olive oil (this makes it very rich, and gives it a great texture), 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar, and 2 teaspoons soy sauce. I also add a few squirts of lemon juice. The most important advice I can about this recipe is to make sure you use a *packed* 1/2 cup of basil. Measure the basil until it fills the 1/2 cup totally packed down. This gives it the perfect basil-y flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
meh...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States