Basil Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is a FABULOUS recipe! I roasted the garlic which made this recipe. I had tons of basil in my garden so this was a great way to use. Use less oil if using on salads but I made a bunch up and froze small containers of it. It freezes beautifully. My favorite way to use this is to flavor salmon or any kind of meat. I cook it with the meat and it makes the meat super delicious! This is my favorite recipe for my herb garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I really wish I had read the reviews before I made this. It had way too much oil and so I ended up just using it as a marinade for some boneless skinless chicken breasts. Good flavor...will probably try again with less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I cut the oil to only half a cup and added a few tablespoons of lemon juice. After this was blended I put it over a fresh spinach salad with cilantro and onions. Heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
excellent taste, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinasbakery

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Very nice vinaigrette because of the use of fresh basil, but very heavy on the oil. I cut the recipe in half and used less than half the amount of oil. Start off with a small amount of oil and add it according to your tastes and you'll have a nice dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
The roasted garlic is an interesting idea,if you have time. I used raw. The ratio of oil to vinegar is way off; typically 2:1 or 2.5:1 is about right, which is what I had to do...add vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
added lemon juice and dry mustard....super yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Loved LOVED LOVED the fresh basil! I doubled the vinegar (white balsamic) and added the juice of half a lemon and a good squirt of dijon mustard. Left the cheese out and added it on top of the salad. I may still reduce the oil a bit next time, but still a good recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Way too much oil. Needed more vinegar. Mixing it the blender made it very pesto-y. It turned out below expectations cause I love balsamic vinegar and roasted garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Good use of all that fresh basil growing in the garden. Was very nice on a chicken pasta salad with lots of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fresh Herb Vinaigrette

Learn how to whip up a fresh-herb salad dressing in just two minutes.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Vinaigrette

Dress up your greens with simple homemade vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States