Basil, Tomato and Mozzarella Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This is a favorite of mine. It's healthy, delicous, and takes minutes to prepare. It's best with crusty Italian bread and Roma tomatoes. Fresh mozzarella is a must. Rather than dipping, I usually sprinkle the balsamic vinegar on the inside of the bread just before assembling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is a perfect summer sandwich! If I am having friends over I will buy a large muffaletta and make a gigantic sandwich and then cut it into wedges. A quick and easy way to feed a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Looks & tastes gourmet, but is so easy! I used unflavored dental floss to easily slice the cheese - just wrap around and pull tight as it slices. I used store bought herbed foccacia bread and toasted in the oven to crisp it up. Just broke off pieces of bread for rustic look. Prepared tomato, cheese and basil on a platter and drizzled with vinegar and left it marinate until I was ready to used it in about an hour. Great for summer lunch for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
We added grilled chicken strips to make it a little more kid friendly and all loved it! Perfect for fresh garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Fabulous. Used more fresh mozzarella and some fresh cracked black pepper as well as homegrown tomatoes. Also changed from French bread to ciabatta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I had everything on hand except the bread so I used regular wheat bread. This was bold in flavor and light at the same time. I'll make this again when I have the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
One of my favorite sandwiches to make for lunch for my husband and I. I have also tried out a few alternatives that are equally delicious. I always use good season's italian salad dressing mix and use balsamic for the vinegar part and olive oil for the oil part and drizzle over the inside of the bread instead of dipping. The added seasoning and the olive oil/balsamic give it such a great flavor. I have added a slice of provolone which adds wonderful flavor. I have added roasted red peppers instead of tomatoes and grilled chicken. I have also used all kinds of diff breads but we like the italian or harder crusted breads best. The original recipe and all the diff ways I make this are all 5 stars! You can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Very delicious and refreshing. I recommend using Roma tomatoes. And many grocery stores sell loaves of Italian bread that you "finish" in the oven; I think most of them are baked for about 12 minutes at 400 degrees. They make wonderful bread for sandwiches such as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
My daughter specifically requested this sandwich for lunch. Because she was taking it to school, I sprinkled the balsamic right onto the bread. She couldn't have been more thrilled and asked for it again the following day. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Very good, but I always put mine under the broiler for a few minutes to melt the cheese a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States