Basil, Tomato and Mozzarella Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I thought this was an excellent light summer lunch sandwich. I have also added it as a must to servie for my vegetarian vistors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Even though I usually prefer meat on my sandwiches, I don't even miss it when I have this. I did make a few changes though: I popped the sandwich (open faced) under the broiler for a couple minutes- just enough for the cheese to melt and the top piece of bread to become golden. I then drizzled olive oil and the balsamic onto the top piece of bread, as well as the red pepper flakes and cracked pepper. This was great- I had two today already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I made basically 2 kinds of sandwiches out of this recipe because of my fiance's picky-eating habits. On both sandwiches I used fresh Mozzarella cheese & served on wheat French bread. I used a olive oil herb mix to spread on both sides of each piece of bread. On one sandwich I used roasted red peppers in place of tomatoes & added some pancetta. I used grape tomatoes in place of big tomatoes on the other. Used a griddle pan to toast. Served with a chicken tortellini salad. I really liked this recipe but probably won't make again due to fiance's pickiness :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I believe I used a bottled balsamic vinaigrette dressing instead of the plain vinegar. So simple a recipe shouldn't be necessary, but thanks for reminding me how great this combo can be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Great easy meal for 1 - or to bring for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This was a nice light sandwich. Only good if you have really flavorful tomatoes from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
These are awesome especially with just picked tomato and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
These were pretty good, but the vinegar needs to be diluted with oil or something. Another option would be to have some sort of a sauce right on the sandwich. It seemed like something was missing but I couldn't put my finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Very good, but I always put mine under the broiler for a few minutes to melt the cheese a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is a perfect summer sandwich! If I am having friends over I will buy a large muffaletta and make a gigantic sandwich and then cut it into wedges. A quick and easy way to feed a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States