Basil, Tomato and Mozzarella Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
These were delicious! I made these and a few other types of sandwiches for my daughter's birthday party. I sliced up the tomatoes, basil and mozzerella the day before so on the day of the event they took less than 5 minutes to assemble. I used a roasted garlic Italian loaf of bread and Newman's Balsamic Vinegraitte dressing. As a tip - I used those long toothpicks with the frill at the end to divide the loaf into sections before slicing into individual portions. Yum! Everyone love them. They were also great as leftovers since the bread was so substantial they didn't get soggy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very good stuff. I used sourdough bread instead of Italian because I didn't have any. This is a very good sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I customized this for 1 - I used a whole grain english muffin, cut the muffin in half, drizzled with olive oil and balsamic vinegar and sprinkled with basil flakes (I didn't have fresh basil on hand). I toasted the muffin halves in the toaster oven. Then I put slices of tomatoes and the mozzarella on top, sprinkled with more olive oil, balsamic vinegar and basil on top. I put it back in the toaster oven for a few more minutes to warm it up. It was great for an easy lunch that is healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is a delicious sandwich. I spread the balsamic vinegar on the bread along with some fresh roasted garlic and put under the broiler for a couple minutes then added the mozzarella, tomato and fresh basil leaves. We think the veggies and mozarella are best left cold. If using with a different kind of cheese, I may try heating it. Will experiment with different breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Very easy, and very good!! I baked it for a few minutes just to have it all melt together and I forgot to make the dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Excellent sandwich recipe. Easy and simple, four ingredients and you are good to go. I will have to try with Provolone as suggested by another reviewer. But this is sandwich I would take to work or make for a picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Very good! Used a garlic herb bread. Sprinkled the bread with balsamic vinegar and then toasted the bread and melted the cheese in the oven at 375 for 6 minutes. Added the tomato and basil. Perfect! Omitted the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I had this on whole wheat bagel bread today for lunch and it was spectacular! Some notes: - Cut the basil leaves, not chop, but whole leaves tend to pull right out with each bite. - I drizzled the oil and vinegar on the bread, layered on the tomato, basil and mozzarella then drizzled some more and then toasted lightly. - Next time I will lightly toast the bread first too! It's a perfect lunch for work, I have everything pre-sliced in baggies in the fridge ready to be made in the toaster oven at work tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Ann Swallow

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Excellent, quick, and easy. Great for a light summer meal. Combining some reviewers' suggestions, I put the sandwich under the broiler, added freshly cracked pepper, used red wine vinegar, and diluted the vinegar with olive oil. (Actually, I just used a few drops of oil and vinegar.) I "veganized" the recipe, using "Teese" soy cheese, which melts fairly well. Next time I'd like to try a reviewer's suggestion to pre-soak the bread with the oil/vinegar. I think I'll add some roasted red peppers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Pretty good, but next time I'll make some adjustments. I'll probably use the vinegar in a dressing or mixed with something so it's not so strong. I'll also toast it in the oven so the cheese melts a little. I'll definitely have it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States