Basil, Tomato and Mozzarella Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
My sis came to visit from out of town so I picked up the ingredients, fresh french loaves and some of the things the other reviewers mentioned and had this for dinner. Some of the traditionalist added ham, turkey or beef and the more daring went with the basic recipe or added roasted red peppers, onions, mushrooms cooked with garlic and/or black olives. It was great and if you decide not to use one of the ingredients don't let it be the basil. I will definitely serve this again when I want to show off. 5 plus stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I have gotten into panani's, I have made something similar. I would use whole wheat ciabetta roll, split, spray olive oil on each half, and toast in my George Forman's grill for a few minutes, when I make pesto, I save some and mix the pesto and mayo, spreading on each half, I add roasted peppers, fresh mozz, left over chicken cutlet and put on my grill till fresh mozz is melted. MMMMMM good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I make this sandwich on lightly buttered French bread and use Brie instead of mozzaella and add cracked black pepper and balsamic vinegar. Reminds me of days I got this sandwich in England in a deli on the High street!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
There are so many options for this sandwich but my favorite is to use a loaf of french bread & slice it to the desired length for your sandwich. Next, tear out the middle of the bread (the soft part), sprinkle shredded mozzarella cheese, chopped tomatoes and chopped basil on one side. Then, sprinkle red pepper flakes on the sandwich. Close the sandwich and press together. Finally, heat in a pan on the stove to warm the inside and make the bread crusty. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I added a little chopped garlic and olive oil...it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
If you haven't tried this, you don't know what you're missing! I love fresh mozzarella, tomato and basil sandwiches. I've been making them (on any kind of bread, usually a whole grain or multile grain), but it's great on Italian. I use a little olive oil or italian dressing. I hadn't thought of using red pepper flakes; I'll have to try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Potter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Excellent as is but a slice of prosciutto adds some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hope, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Very good! I used two 100 calorie english muffins for this and it worked out perfectly for hubby and I since they're round and the same size as tomato slices! I also love balsamic so it was a great version for me! I might try it with italian dressing next time and also broil it to melt the cheese. Yum, Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very good. I just drizzled some balsamic vinegar on the sandwich itself instead of using it as a dipping sauce. I, for one, love balsamic on everything so it doesn't bother me to have balsamic on this sandwich. I also put the sandwich on a multi grain baguette. So simple yet so delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This recipes is amazing with a few adjustments. I used Ciabotta bread instead, grilled chicken and added thin tomato slices along with diced sauteed red peppers. To complete the sandwich, I first toasted the bread, while it was hot I added the pesto/mayo and sprinkled it with mozzarella cheese (i wanted to use it up or else I would have used slices)and I put it in the microwave for like 20 seconds to melt the cheese. On top of the cheese I carefully placed the cubed grilled chicken. On the other half I put the tomato pesto, bell peppers and tomato slices. I combined both sides and it was warm & delicious! I will make this again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States