Basil, Tomato and Mozzarella Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Delicious! I drizzled the evoo & balsamic vinegar on the bread itself, then dress with sliced tomatoes & cheese, put into toaster oven until cheese was just slightly melted then added the whole basil leaves. Oh gosh- thanks so much for this vegetarian recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Delicious summertime sandwich! I have been making these for years, and I believe it is very important to use freshly grown summer tomatoes. Only thing I do different is add olive oil to the vinegar and drizzle over the sandwich instead of dipping. This was the first tme I used crushed red pepper with these and it adds great flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Wow! These were excellent, and I made them for my family for lunch. I added a grilled chicken breast, and served with my fresh basil from my garden :) The only thing that would make them perfect would be garden tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I make mine pannini style... the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This was so easy! And tasty too! I used fresh basil from my garden and fresh chives for a little onion tast. I used Italian Bread and a few store tomatos, then drizzled balsamic vinegar and olive oil on the bread. I also put a little mix of the two in a side dish for dipping if others wanted more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Ruffalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Very good - light summer dinner! I also did the good seasons dressing right on the bread. It sounds good with the pesto. I will have to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Much much better with pesto sauce too. Throw it on a panini grill (I love our George Forman grill) and it is a gourmet meal! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
The original recipe was great, but to add a little extra, I added 1 very thin slice of prosciutto and some oregano. Put it on a crispy italian hero bread with a side of marinated mushrooms. Makes a great summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was a wonderful sandwich,I wanted to try somethin different, so I cut the tomatos,mozzarella in cubes and add green olives.Chopp basil and put over the tomatos, mozzarella,olives sprinkle Italian seasoning,balsmanic vinegar,(good olive oil)to taste...I served it as a side dish. let it sit in the refrid. for a few hours. Enjoy (I hope)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I used ciabatta bread and a balsamic garlic dipping oil as a spread. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States