Basil, Tomato and Mozzarella Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Delicious summertime sandwich! I have been making these for years, and I believe it is very important to use freshly grown summer tomatoes. Only thing I do different is add olive oil to the vinegar and drizzle over the sandwich instead of dipping. This was the first tme I used crushed red pepper with these and it adds great flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Wow! These were excellent, and I made them for my family for lunch. I added a grilled chicken breast, and served with my fresh basil from my garden :) The only thing that would make them perfect would be garden tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I make mine pannini style... the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This was so easy! And tasty too! I used fresh basil from my garden and fresh chives for a little onion tast. I used Italian Bread and a few store tomatos, then drizzled balsamic vinegar and olive oil on the bread. I also put a little mix of the two in a side dish for dipping if others wanted more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Ruffalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Very good - light summer dinner! I also did the good seasons dressing right on the bread. It sounds good with the pesto. I will have to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Much much better with pesto sauce too. Throw it on a panini grill (I love our George Forman grill) and it is a gourmet meal! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
The original recipe was great, but to add a little extra, I added 1 very thin slice of prosciutto and some oregano. Put it on a crispy italian hero bread with a side of marinated mushrooms. Makes a great summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was a wonderful sandwich,I wanted to try somethin different, so I cut the tomatos,mozzarella in cubes and add green olives.Chopp basil and put over the tomatos, mozzarella,olives sprinkle Italian seasoning,balsmanic vinegar,(good olive oil)to taste...I served it as a side dish. let it sit in the refrid. for a few hours. Enjoy (I hope)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I used ciabatta bread and a balsamic garlic dipping oil as a spread. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
My sis came to visit from out of town so I picked up the ingredients, fresh french loaves and some of the things the other reviewers mentioned and had this for dinner. Some of the traditionalist added ham, turkey or beef and the more daring went with the basic recipe or added roasted red peppers, onions, mushrooms cooked with garlic and/or black olives. It was great and if you decide not to use one of the ingredients don't let it be the basil. I will definitely serve this again when I want to show off. 5 plus stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States