Basil, Tomato and Mozzarella Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by MEME
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very Yummy. I put mine on a french style hamburger roll since I had some left over. Toasted the bread and spread the balsamic vinegar right on the bread. I left out the red pepper flakes since I'm a wuss. Very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
AMAZING! And surprisingly filling...even my 6"1' husband was satisfied with two sandwiches. I used Focaccia because it is so flavorful and I toasted the bread in the pan with a drizzle of olive oil. And instead of dipping in the balsamic, I drizzled it inside the sandwich...sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OnPointe
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I did these as open faced "melts" for a recent party I had. They are completely yummy and way easy to make. DH asked for more later after everyone had left. I brushed the bread with EVOO and toasted. Then put down the sliced ripe tomato, chopped fresh basil, and fresh mozzerella on top. I put it back in the oven just until the cheese started to melt. So simple and awesome. Great with a nice bowl of soup ....or by themselves! Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This is one of my favorite sandwiches with slight variation. When the author says fresh mozzarella, she's right - get the kind in water if you really want it to rock. Garden tomatoes make all the difference asl well. Fresh basil is awesome, but it can be pretty good with fresh spinach too. I like it with just EVO and a sprinkling of dried oregano, salt and pepper - the balsamic is good, but I prefer it without. Add some Prosciutto for a non-veg treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Excelent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Decent. I used foccacia bread instead of italian because that's what I had on hand. Seemed a little plain to me. Maybe a small amount of red onion would have jazzed it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This sandwich was delicious! I followed the other reviews and added some sauteed red onion. Also, I toasted the bread, put the sandwich together and thn broiled it in the oven for 10 minutes. I can´t wait to make this sandwich again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
excellent!!! we have this with different dipping sauces. one of our summer favorites and sometimes we grill the sandwich. yummy thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alpine, New York, USA
Living In: Constantia, New York, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very good. I used fresh basil and tomato right from the garden. However, I used a toasted egg bagel. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Fun and tasty on a hot day, actually anyday I have fresh tomatoes and basil from the garden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzkenworthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States