Basil, Tomato and Mozzarella Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
One of my favorite sandwiches to make for lunch for my husband and I. I have also tried out a few alternatives that are equally delicious. I always use good season's italian salad dressing mix and use balsamic for the vinegar part and olive oil for the oil part and drizzle over the inside of the bread instead of dipping. The added seasoning and the olive oil/balsamic give it such a great flavor. I have added a slice of provolone which adds wonderful flavor. I have added roasted red peppers instead of tomatoes and grilled chicken. I have also used all kinds of diff breads but we like the italian or harder crusted breads best. The original recipe and all the diff ways I make this are all 5 stars! You can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Wonderful sandwich that's quick, easy and delicious! I toasted the bread, salted the tomatoes and added a little cracked black pepper. I also added some roasted red peppers. I added a bit of olive oil to the balsamic /red peper flake mixture and drizzled that over everything before closing the sandwich. I cut in into sections and wow - excellent without a ton of effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Looks & tastes gourmet, but is so easy! I used unflavored dental floss to easily slice the cheese - just wrap around and pull tight as it slices. I used store bought herbed foccacia bread and toasted in the oven to crisp it up. Just broke off pieces of bread for rustic look. Prepared tomato, cheese and basil on a platter and drizzled with vinegar and left it marinate until I was ready to used it in about an hour. Great for summer lunch for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I had this on whole wheat bagel bread today for lunch and it was spectacular! Some notes: - Cut the basil leaves, not chop, but whole leaves tend to pull right out with each bite. - I drizzled the oil and vinegar on the bread, layered on the tomato, basil and mozzarella then drizzled some more and then toasted lightly. - Next time I will lightly toast the bread first too! It's a perfect lunch for work, I have everything pre-sliced in baggies in the fridge ready to be made in the toaster oven at work tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Ann Swallow

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This is a favorite of mine. It's healthy, delicous, and takes minutes to prepare. It's best with crusty Italian bread and Roma tomatoes. Fresh mozzarella is a must. Rather than dipping, I usually sprinkle the balsamic vinegar on the inside of the bread just before assembling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
My daughter specifically requested this sandwich for lunch. Because she was taking it to school, I sprinkled the balsamic right onto the bread. She couldn't have been more thrilled and asked for it again the following day. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is a perfect summer sandwich! If I am having friends over I will buy a large muffaletta and make a gigantic sandwich and then cut it into wedges. A quick and easy way to feed a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Simple, but we made it more of a meal. We roasted red peppers & red onion on the grill, then when almost ready, added mozzarella cheese. Per reviews we dipped in red wine vinegar. I'm going to add portabello mushrooms next time & just put a little roasted red pepper dressing or raspberry vinaigrette on hoagie or hard bun. I liked this much more than my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
Very nice way to use the summer tomotoes. Quick and easy to make for a crowd. I used Newman's Own Balsamic Vinaigrette with the sandwich. It is quite delicious. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I thought this was good... Used red wine vinegar instead of the balsamic, and just drizzled it over the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States