Basil, Tomato and Mozzarella Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
My daughter specifically requested this sandwich for lunch. Because she was taking it to school, I sprinkled the balsamic right onto the bread. She couldn't have been more thrilled and asked for it again the following day. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This is a favorite of mine. It's healthy, delicous, and takes minutes to prepare. It's best with crusty Italian bread and Roma tomatoes. Fresh mozzarella is a must. Rather than dipping, I usually sprinkle the balsamic vinegar on the inside of the bread just before assembling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Very good sandwich. My son who hates tomatoes even ate it and asked for more...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Very delicious and refreshing. I recommend using Roma tomatoes. And many grocery stores sell loaves of Italian bread that you "finish" in the oven; I think most of them are baked for about 12 minutes at 400 degrees. They make wonderful bread for sandwiches such as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
One of my favorite sandwiches to make for lunch for my husband and I. I have also tried out a few alternatives that are equally delicious. I always use good season's italian salad dressing mix and use balsamic for the vinegar part and olive oil for the oil part and drizzle over the inside of the bread instead of dipping. The added seasoning and the olive oil/balsamic give it such a great flavor. I have added a slice of provolone which adds wonderful flavor. I have added roasted red peppers instead of tomatoes and grilled chicken. I have also used all kinds of diff breads but we like the italian or harder crusted breads best. The original recipe and all the diff ways I make this are all 5 stars! You can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I had everything on hand except the bread so I used regular wheat bread. This was bold in flavor and light at the same time. I'll make this again when I have the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Simple, but we made it more of a meal. We roasted red peppers & red onion on the grill, then when almost ready, added mozzarella cheese. Per reviews we dipped in red wine vinegar. I'm going to add portabello mushrooms next time & just put a little roasted red pepper dressing or raspberry vinaigrette on hoagie or hard bun. I liked this much more than my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Really like this sandwich. It is quick, easy, and healthy. I don't use the red pepper (just don't really like it). Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I had to use toasted whole wheat bread. It was very good. After I assembled it I put it in the oven for a few minutes in order to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Loved the recipe. Thanks. Funny, I did not have fresh basil so I substituted fresh cilantro and it did taste quite good. I am sure fresh basil would taste excellent. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States