Basil, Roasted Peppers and Monterey Jack Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2000
This is almost a side dish in itself. Lots of ingredients for kids to help mix and what a final result. It goes to a lot of "Pot Luck" dinners with us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
it has a lot of flavor but is somewhat dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2000
Outstanding with Low Country Shrimp Boil; not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2000
We operate a parrot sanctuary (www.rescueme.org) and parrots love corn bread; corn and peppers. We often bake cornbread for them with pepper. This was a huge hit. We added habanero peppers (their fav)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
I really did enjoy the final product but it took a little longer to make than I like for a weekday meal. My children were not very fond of this cornbread though I thought it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
I absolutely loved it--I substituted yoghurt for buttermilk and didn't have "fresh" basil, but I baked the cornbread in a giant cast iron skillet and it was terrific! My 10-year-old even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This was delicious. I had company and recieved lots of compliments. It did, however, take FOREVER to make, and I am not usually one to complain about the length of time it takes to prepare anything. Another note: put it in the refrigerator. Mine spoiled within a day and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
I loved this -- the other 3 people in my family didn't! I think it's because they are used to either sweet corn bread or a regular corn bread with a butter/honey spread. I really think it's the basil that makes it! (well, and the cheese!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Very tasty. Like the submitter says, just add whatever goodies you feel like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
Super bread for serving with a hearty soup - try it with Colourful Corn Chowder (i found it on here) also really good with a barbecue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States