Basil, Roasted Peppers and Monterey Jack Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Delicious. I actually used two boxes of pre-made cornbread mix per the box directions (rather than making from scratch), and added all of the remaining ingredients, baked at 400 for 25 minutes, and it came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This was delicious. I had company and recieved lots of compliments. It did, however, take FOREVER to make, and I am not usually one to complain about the length of time it takes to prepare anything. Another note: put it in the refrigerator. Mine spoiled within a day and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2000
This is almost a side dish in itself. Lots of ingredients for kids to help mix and what a final result. It goes to a lot of "Pot Luck" dinners with us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
I absolutely loved it--I substituted yoghurt for buttermilk and didn't have "fresh" basil, but I baked the cornbread in a giant cast iron skillet and it was terrific! My 10-year-old even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2000
We operate a parrot sanctuary (www.rescueme.org) and parrots love corn bread; corn and peppers. We often bake cornbread for them with pepper. This was a huge hit. We added habanero peppers (their fav)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I skipped the corn and followed the rest of the recipe with no changes. They're beautiful, fragrant, "confetti-like" muffins with loads of great flavor. The basil in particular, leaves its mark. The pepperjack cheese, however, was not as predominant as I would have expected, either in taste or appearance. I baked this as muffins - one half recipe without the corn yielded 6 traditional-sized muffins. This recipe cerrtainly gives new meaning and flair to the word "cornbread."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2000
Outstanding with Low Country Shrimp Boil; not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
it has a lot of flavor but is somewhat dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
I really did enjoy the final product but it took a little longer to make than I like for a weekday meal. My children were not very fond of this cornbread though I thought it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe to a "T"! and...... you do NOT NEED TO TWEAK THIS RECIPE! holy cannoli but it is fabulous the way it is! The only thing I did was half the recipe as it was just me enjoying it! I want to THANK Doug Matthews for putting me onto this recipe! I am simply bowled over by how good it is!!! (Thanks Doug!) **Note, as per another reviewer, the entire batch will not fit into a 9x9 pan, I used a 9x9 but HALVED the recipe and it fit perfectly, so you will definitely need a larger pan if making the batch as stated in the recipe. Next time I am making muffins though - mmmmmm, this really is a yummy, savoury cornbread that I am glad was given to me! ;) ***Edit~ I made these again (March 30th) but baked them in muffin tins, if anyone is contemplating that, it took 15 minutes for mine to be done, OMG, still the same awesome taste! :D Clear winner here of a recipe... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States