Basil, Roasted Peppers and Monterey Jack Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I loved this....had to use dried basil b/c my basil plant is a little small right now....but basil definitely adds a beautiful taste to this.....best cornbread recipe ever....think i might try jalapeno peppers instead of roasted red peppers....can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeneyesfromphilly
Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was excellent, even gluten-free style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I used 2 pkgs of Jiffy Mix (for a double recipe), thus omitting the sugar and baking powder (which are already in Jiffy) as well as the cornmeal. I doubled the recipe but left out 2 eggs (because I was short)--but they were not needed. It was truly wonderful, though almost souffle-like. I won the "side dish" award at our BBQ ribs cookoff--10 bucks, ya'll! A definite crowd pleaser and very unusual. P.S. No need to serve it with butter--it's rich enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
It was great! Very hearty. I couldn't find the roasted, marinated red peppers at my grocery store so I just chopped up about a quarter of a red pepper and threw that in. Also I skipped making the cornbread batter and used two boxes of jiffy cornbread mix. Best when warm, right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This recipie was FANTASTIC! I substituted basil for rosemary and the smell alone in the kitchen it worth it. I thought however that the batter was too thick when it was done so I added about 1/2 cup more milk (I made 2 batches of 12 servings at once) and I am glad I did because it was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mercedes Belgrove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Made this for a bbq cookout. Sliced it into 32 pieces. Went well with BBQ chicken and ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
I love basil and roasted red peppers but this recipe just didn't do it for us. I guess we prefer a sweeter cornbread, and a sweeter taste would not go well with those savory flavors? Will keep looking - thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Delicious. I actually used two boxes of pre-made cornbread mix per the box directions (rather than making from scratch), and added all of the remaining ingredients, baked at 400 for 25 minutes, and it came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This was very good! Even my son who won't go near a vegtable loved it. My husbacnd wanted it in his lunch box the next day. We also liked that it was not too sweet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I am a big fan of regular cornbread, and thought I'd give this a try. It turned out great! Very flavourful and moist, even though I omitted the roast peppers. I used about a 1/4 cup more cheese than the recipe called for (as I shredded too much). The end result is a bit high on the calories/fat, so this is a good recipe to make as a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States