Basil, Roasted Peppers and Monterey Jack Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I too used 2 boxes of Jiffy mix and then followed the recipe. The basil really didn't fit in with the pepper jack cheese and corn. They did make a very pretty muffin, though. Thanks for an easy to assemble recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Makes a dense, very flavorful cornbread. I used fresh corn instead of frozen...yummy! My husband really liked it too, and he is extremely picky. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Stealing a line from Rachael Ray “These are Yum-O” cornbread muffins. My family is not a huge cornbread eater, but with certain foods they tolerate it. They didn’t have to tolerate this recipe, they inhaled them. I know it was because of the roasted marinated red peppers, basil and Pepperjack cheese. I greased my mini muffin pans and baked them for about 12-15 minutes and it yielded 42 mini muffins. This was way too many for my family, so I bagged up a large portion of them and put them in the freezer for another day. I served these with ‘Waistline Friendly Turkey Chili’ as suggested from Saveur….. in lisa’s morning post “What’s for dinner…..”. We had a delicious meal that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is the third time I have made this, and I'm always surprised at how good it is. It's rich and full of flavor, NOT my mother's cornbread, that's for sure! This recipe makes 2 8" x 8" pans, one for this meal, and one leftover. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I have made these two or three times now and absolutely love them! I make them in oversized muffin tins. They are a lot of work, but worth the time. Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gwinn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very good... nice with soup on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WestCoastJana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was great. Followed it almost exactly, but I did use the Jiffy cornbread mix and make muffins. It doesn't need the extra cheese on top, in my opinion. And it's best served warm out of the oven, just make sure to wait a bit so that they will come out whole from the muffin tins. Heating them up later didn't work quite as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I love this cornbread! I've been making it for several years, and it never fails. I've used different kinds of cheese, fresh off the cob and frozen corn, fresh and jarred peppers,and it always turn out great. It even reheats nicely in the oven. Yum! This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was good, loved the basil, but I ended up baking it in a 9X13 pan and had a lot of it leftover, cuz I am the only one who likes cornbread in my family. So I shared the leftovers with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
A quick and easy way to make these is to use two boxes of corn muffin mix (I prefer Jiffy) and follow the directions on the box for the egg & milk (sub. buttermilk, if you have it!) you may then use the recipie suggestions for the sauteed onion, sugar, cheese, basil and red pepper. I usually use a small can or two of diced green chilis instead of basil. You can throw in a 1/4 cup of melted butter for a flavor boost, but no need for 1/2 a cup! I drain a can of corn and add the kernals to the mix and you don't need the TB of baking soda, but you can add one tsp. if you want higher muffin peaks. I use a combination of cheddar & jack cheese and also sprinkle some cheese on top before baking. This is enough muffins for a crowd, you should yeild 24+. FYI, they freeze very well, too. You may also bake this in a large loaf pan, well greased and will take about 45 min. to bake @ 350 degrees. If you bake in a loaf pan, bake for 15 min. and then sprinkle the cheese on top & finish baking, or the cheese gets over-browned. This version always gets rave reviews from friends & family and is excellent on a chilly day with a steaming bowl of chili or tortilla soup! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States