Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is a great base recipe! I added 1 tbsp lemon juice, subbed half the pine nuts for walnuts (to save on cost), added a little bit of mayo at a time for texture, and had to omit the cheese due to my son's dairy allergy. Both of my toddlers loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schuylerville, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Love it. Great on chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRYSTONMAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Havelock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I have made variations to this a few times, and there may be a bit much oil, but i just add a bit at a time until i get the proper texture. A good alteration for this if you are interested, take a can of diced tomatoes, and mix in a food processor with this pesto, the tomato pesto is very good and takes nothing to alter this recipe, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithshire, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I made this for guestes with half the oil - it was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
My first try at pesto and this was a really good recipe to start with. It was everything and more than what I was looking for and has literally breathed new life into some of our favorite Italian dishes that we thought couldn't get any better. TRY THIS!! Its so versatile too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Great Taste! Will try again next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Good -- but way too much oil. You could cut the oil in half and it would still be too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Perfect--this is exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States