Basil Pesto Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Yummy, I used a baguette. I would have given it 5 stars if you instructed to lightly toast the bread first. (The pesto/tomatoes make it soggy. Pesto was fantastic, I used basil and parsley mixed and added a little salt and pepper. I have plenty pesto left over for tomorrows dinner which I will toss with pasta and shrimp alfredo. FYI - pine nuts are also called pignoli nuts and you can find them near your olives, pickles etc. or in your pasta sauce section in your supermarket. I toasted in small non skillet by itself for a minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
These are so freaken good! My husband and kids love these so much that I have to double the batch each time I make them. I agree with the last review, you can get away with less olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PuffNoodle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden Isles, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Awesome! My fiance doesn't prefer basil but loves this! Always the first to go at parties! Use fresh moz and parm...it makes a difference! Also, use baguette slices lightly toasted on both sides to avoid soggines. Watch pines nutss , as they burn very easily!Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Great recipe. I've made it several times and have received rave reviews each time. I do recommend lightly toasting the bread slices (a baugette works well) before adding the pesto; otherwise the bread tends to get a little soggy. I've made this with havarti, munster, and swiss cheese on top - and they are all good! Note - I used pre-made pesto...it cut down on time and still worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
I had so much basil in my garden, I was not sure what to do with it all. We tried this recipe and loved it. I even froze some for later. Thanks so much for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I didn't use the pesto recipe from this recipe, but made my own with cilantro, basil and sundried tomatoes. But the rest of the recipe was fantastic. I made these as appetizers and our guests loved them. They are so easy once the pesto is made. I also added a little bit of italian seasoning and crushed red pepper to each bread slice to spice them up a little. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was just excellent and I plan to make it often given it's summer and I'll have a bountiful supply of beautiful basil and vine-ripe Roma tomatoes in my garden. I did take a short cut in that I always keep homemade basil in the freezer (I put it in zip-loc bags, sort of flatten it out, then break off chunks as I need it). Since there was only Hubs and me eating it, I opted to use fresh Italian rolls from a wonderful old Italian bakery in Milwaukee. I agree with the submitter to slice the tomato thinly, although this is just a matter of personal preference. Not only is this delicious, with the slightly crunchy toasted Italian bread with its classic "Caprese-style" flavors of basil, tomato and mozzarella, but it also makes your mouth water just from its eye appeal. For me, this is some darn good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
I only had shredded mozzarella cheese and this turned out great! It was a perfect 'light dinner' with a glass of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
My friend Jennifer & I made this for ourselves.. We loved it! We will definiatly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I used this recipe for New Years Eve and it was wonderful. I had already prepared Pesto and used that for some and some store bought Lemon Artichoke Pesto......they were wonderful too! Very easy, didn't take any time at all...I put them in the broiler for about 3 minutes and they were done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States