Basil Pesto Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I got this recipe on the "Daily Dish".It's a classic, but I didn't make it in years. My husband came so hungry from work that I didn't look up the exact recipe again.I just knew the ingrediences. So I ended up using too many nuts and not enaugh basil. I can't even tell. Delicious! I extra bought Giabatta bread. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good - but pre-toasting the bread is a must. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Yummy! This is excellent. I did cheat and use prepared pesto. I agree that the bread should be lightly toasted before adding the pesto and tomatoes. Can't wait to have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These were excellent. I tried a few without the tomato, since I ran out, and they were great as well. I tried slices around 1/2 inch and 1/4 inch thick and really like the thinner better. The bread was less hard and easier to eat, but the pesto oil soaked through a little. Still way yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Yummy. I used roasted garlic pesto bought from shop, used cheddar cheese (the only cheese in house), made these and served with salad for lazy Sunday lunch. Very easy & quick. Oh, and I too lightly toasted the baguette. Turned out fab. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATATWORK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Cooking is not one of my favorite things but I had a ton of basil so I started looking for a recipe which called for a ton of it. I'd never made pesto before and I must say, I really really liked the results. I'll freeze some of it like another "cook" suggested and impress my sister with my home cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I've never cared for pesto before, but making it bruschetta-like by incorporating bread makes this something I will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Very tasty and golden brown cheese is appealing to the eye. I added salt and pepper to the tomatoes and sprinkled a little garlic powder and rosemary on top. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Very refreshing and delicious. I took it to my gym for a pot luck and it was gone within minutes! I didn't have tomatoes and used canned diced tomatoes and it was still pleasing to the palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States