Basil Pesto Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I got this recipe on the "Daily Dish".It's a classic, but I didn't make it in years. My husband came so hungry from work that I didn't look up the exact recipe again.I just knew the ingrediences. So I ended up using too many nuts and not enaugh basil. I can't even tell. Delicious! I extra bought Giabatta bread. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good - but pre-toasting the bread is a must. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Yummy! This is excellent. I did cheat and use prepared pesto. I agree that the bread should be lightly toasted before adding the pesto and tomatoes. Can't wait to have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These were excellent. I tried a few without the tomato, since I ran out, and they were great as well. I tried slices around 1/2 inch and 1/4 inch thick and really like the thinner better. The bread was less hard and easier to eat, but the pesto oil soaked through a little. Still way yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Yummy. I used roasted garlic pesto bought from shop, used cheddar cheese (the only cheese in house), made these and served with salad for lazy Sunday lunch. Very easy & quick. Oh, and I too lightly toasted the baguette. Turned out fab. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATATWORK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Cooking is not one of my favorite things but I had a ton of basil so I started looking for a recipe which called for a ton of it. I'd never made pesto before and I must say, I really really liked the results. I'll freeze some of it like another "cook" suggested and impress my sister with my home cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I've never cared for pesto before, but making it bruschetta-like by incorporating bread makes this something I will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Very tasty and golden brown cheese is appealing to the eye. I added salt and pepper to the tomatoes and sprinkled a little garlic powder and rosemary on top. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Very refreshing and delicious. I took it to my gym for a pot luck and it was gone within minutes! I didn't have tomatoes and used canned diced tomatoes and it was still pleasing to the palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States