Basil Pesto Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly and it made delicious pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asmith10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My husband and I think that we could eat these for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Quick and delicious. Quick, because I used purchased/prepared pesto -- delicious, because what's not to like? I took another rater's advice and toasted the bread (a little) under the broiler before assembling the bread and sticking it under the broiler to melt the cheese. I used jack cheese because that's what I had on hand. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was just excellent and I plan to make it often given it's summer and I'll have a bountiful supply of beautiful basil and vine-ripe Roma tomatoes in my garden. I did take a short cut in that I always keep homemade basil in the freezer (I put it in zip-loc bags, sort of flatten it out, then break off chunks as I need it). Since there was only Hubs and me eating it, I opted to use fresh Italian rolls from a wonderful old Italian bakery in Milwaukee. I agree with the submitter to slice the tomato thinly, although this is just a matter of personal preference. Not only is this delicious, with the slightly crunchy toasted Italian bread with its classic "Caprese-style" flavors of basil, tomato and mozzarella, but it also makes your mouth water just from its eye appeal. For me, this is some darn good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
WOW! This is so delicious! I had quite a bit of basil in my garden that I needed to use before it went to seed. This recipe sounded great and it didn't disappoint. Next time I may add a thin slice of red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is delicious! I made this using some homemade pesto that I already had on hand (same ingredients) and we really enjoyed it. The nice thing is that if you already have the pesto on hand this comes together in a snap! I have made this both with and without the tomatoes and it was great either way. Fast, easy and delicious! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This got rave reviews at my most recent party. I do think the fresh mozarella is a must for the freshest flavor, the same for making your own pesto vs using a jarred version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
It's easy to do with purchased pesto too. Saves time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harriet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I took this to an italian party and everyone loved it. The only change I made is I took a baguette sliced it in half and toasted it. I will definately mamke this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE BULANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
These are THE BOMB! I and my guests couldn't stop eating them. I did slice and toast (on both sides) the french baguette. The only other change I made was to substitute walnuts for the pine nuts. I finely ground the walnuts in a coffee bean grinder that I use only for nuts so as not to transfer any coffee flavor over from grinding coffee beans. Pines nuts are so expensive and walnuts or even pecans are a cheap and tasty substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States