Basil Pesto Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This recipe was fine. I had some ladies over, so I sliced the bread especially thin, but I had LOTS leftover. I would make again. But, it wasn't spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethmorris1125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brecksville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Great recipe. I've made it several times and have received rave reviews each time. I do recommend lightly toasting the bread slices (a baugette works well) before adding the pesto; otherwise the bread tends to get a little soggy. I've made this with havarti, munster, and swiss cheese on top - and they are all good! Note - I used pre-made pesto...it cut down on time and still worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Amazing flavour, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
So easy! I do suggest toasting the bread on both sides before adding the pesto. I used bottled pesto and provolone cheese. I think that sundried tomatoes or even canned tomatoes would be good as well. I used fresh Roma. This was a favorite at a recent party which I found ironic as it was the quickest and easiest! Several people wanted the "recipe". The combination of pesto, tomato and cheese is a sure winner. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Awesome! My fiance doesn't prefer basil but loves this! Always the first to go at parties! Use fresh moz and parm...it makes a difference! Also, use baguette slices lightly toasted on both sides to avoid soggines. Watch pines nutss , as they burn very easily!Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Yummy, I used a baguette. I would have given it 5 stars if you instructed to lightly toast the bread first. (The pesto/tomatoes make it soggy. Pesto was fantastic, I used basil and parsley mixed and added a little salt and pepper. I have plenty pesto left over for tomorrows dinner which I will toss with pasta and shrimp alfredo. FYI - pine nuts are also called pignoli nuts and you can find them near your olives, pickles etc. or in your pasta sauce section in your supermarket. I toasted in small non skillet by itself for a minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was an ULTRA QUICK, snack solution for unexpected guests. I used Ciabatta bread and followed the instructions to a T. Everyone loved it, and I will definitely be doing it again and again ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I made this Saturday for a pre-concert luncheon. I would give it 5 stars, but I made some changes. For the sake of convienience, I used a good quality prepared pesto sauce, omitted the tomatoes and used grated parmesean cheese. I served the bread with Smoked Salmon Chowder. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Very good and easy to make. I could not find the pine nuts, so I made it without. My husband loved this!! I make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
You would expect the bread to be nice and crisp; however, the basil mixture is very moist and makes the bread slightly soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States