Basil Pesto Bread Rounds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I would have given 5 stars, but the broiler time needs to be closer to 2-3 minutes, not 5-8. I happened to check the bread at 3 minutes, and it was already starting to burn. Otherwise, great recipe. I put a sliced roma tomato on part of them, and it was delicious. I will add it to the mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
WOW! These were the easiest, most delicious appetizers that I have ever made. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out PERFECT! The only suggestion that I have to anyone that wants to try this recipe is to make sure that you have enough ingredients on hand to make another batch as they will be gone in minutes! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Outstanding! Used garlic powder instead of fresh and the rounds were gobbled down in no time. This appetizer is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
OMG!!!! SOOO good! I didn't have any basil pesto on hand, just sun dried tomatoe pesto, so I used that instead. It was one of the simplest things to make, and right up there with the tastiest. The only thing is, I would probably add a little more garlic next time, just cuz were garlic freaks in our family! Next time I have an appie night, I'll deffinetly be making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Sher, this was so darn good. I didn't measure the mayo and I probably used more pesto than mayo. In any case, this was an experiment that paid off nicely because I'm definitely going to serve this as an appetizer on Easter. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
We liked this one. I didn't have any baguette on hand, so I used ready to heat garlic bread (New York Texas Toast) and skipped the garlic cloves. I toasted the bread on both sides, then spread the pesto on top and put it back in the oven for a few minutes until the pesto was warm. I cut the pieces in half and they were just right for one serving. It was great. Next time I will use the suggested sun-dried tomato pesto. Great tasty and easy appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This appetizer was a smash at a recent St. Patrick's Day party-- the whole lot were gone by the time they cooled down. Keep this one in mind as a great side to spaghetti or your favorite pasta dish. Lots of flavor and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Honestly, I wasn't a fan of this. I made it for a potluck, and most people pushed it aside after the first few bites. The mayonaise taste is just too overpowering. I tried it with bruchetta, however, and it was pretty good. In my opinion, this recipe is just too rich to stand alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESMICHY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Made this with Sun-dried Tomato Pesto and we loved it. Great flavor and easy to make. In fact, dh requested twice this weekend. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Excellent! Just watch them so they don't get too brown...the broil and bake times in the recipe were a little too long for my oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States