Basil Pesto Bread Rounds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I made this using the recipe on this site: Easy Pesto by Rebecca James Thompson, which uses almonds instead of pine nuts. This is very yummy, but very rich. Which can be good as it keeps people from eating too many at a party. I think I prefer bruschetta, but I may make this again. I burned the first bread, so watch out! The second bread I purchased a par baked loaf and that worked great! I also ended up not making it when I planned and it stored in the fridge mixed up (not on bread) great, so you can make it a couple of days before a party and just do the bread part day of. I also had leftovers which worked well in pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Very easy to make and delicious. Really have to keep an eye on these under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This was delicious and there weren't any leftovers - but BE CAREFUL!! I had the bread in for 3 minutes and smoke started pouring out of the oven. Don't use the broiler setting to toast the bread, just set it to about 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I needed a quick and easy recipe for a family dinner and I was a little skeptic thinking this is way too easy it can't taste THAT good. I was wrong. My family loved it and we ended up eating every last one even though I made enough to feed an army. I brushed the baguette with EVOO before first broiling the rounds. After cooking for the 6 minutes I also added mozzarella to the tops and broiled one last time. This made it so tasty. I also added sun dried tomato strips and sliced grape tomatoes in a bowl on the side to top as we ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These were easy and delicious. Strong garlic taste. I used bagel bread and cut it into fourths triangularly for an easy appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
These are easy to make and taste so good. I did use a little more pesto than called for. I'm going to try with sundried tomato pesto next. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Made the rounds for a party last night—big hit! One guy went back for some more over and over, saying he just couldn't get enough of them. I didn't have time to toast the bread beforehand and this might have made the rounds a bit chewier than they were supposed to be. So don't skip the toasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Delicious with Pasta e Fagioli soup! Very easy to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORY7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Everyone LOVED them and they were very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Wow! This is amazing and was GONE in no time flat! I cooked it for 5 minutes @ 350 and then put shredded mozzarella on top and baked for 3 more minutes. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States