Basil Parmesan Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
this recipe is so pretty and tasty as well. didnt have any sundried tomato paste available so i just used ordinary tomato paste. also combined feta cheese and a local carabao cheese. i added more oil to get the blender working.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
This recipe is to die for. I made it for a family barbeque and was a bit worried that my unsophisticated relatives would not appreciate the sophisticated flavors, but I was happily surprised to see them gobble it right up. Just watch out - it's so delicious that you'll probably end up eating way too much, and you might get a stomach ache!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
Cartha, what a wonderful recipe. My family says I am not allowed to come to the party unless I bring the dip! I have made this for every party and always get great comments. For the sun dried tomato paste, I used a jar of chopped sun dried tomatoes. Drain the tomatoes of all the oil. Don't mix all the layers together!! The presentation is very pretty. Even my brother loves this and he is 17!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea  Alexander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
Maybe I should have taken some of the others reviewers advice and just mixed the whole thing together because I wasn't terribly impressed with this recipe. Although it looked pretty, the flavors did not meld. I felt like I was just eating cream cheese, tomato paste and pesto. I think the flavor would have been better had I used an herbed whipped cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Excellent flavour to this dip. I ended up stirring the whole thing together after I saw how it looked in layers, and it tasted great. Also, instead of crackers, I made "crustinis" from a french baguette sliced up and toasted with a herb butter. Got lots of compliments from party goers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This cheeseball is outstanding!!! I have a small catering business and have definitely added this to my menu choices. You can also use just regular tomato paste if you don't have the other on hand. I did increase the cream cheese by 4 more ounces. You will not be sorry when you bring this to your next gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Excellent --take this to all parties and the recipe is requested everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I love this recipe. I first had it at a wedding reception and everyone around us asked for the recipef from the hostess. I serve it as all my parties and even at the bridal and baby showers we have at work. If you use Saran Wrap and line the the bowl, it looks great! Yum. can't wait to make it next week at a wedding shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
I did not use the food processor, instead I just minced the basil and added the shreded parmesan. I actually doubled the recipe and instead of using a bowl, I used a loaf pan. People loved! It is easy, fast and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
YUM! I'm going to use this recipe now whenever I'm asked to bring an appetizer to a party. It's easy to make, looks great and gets raves from the crowd. (I have not been able to get it to flip out of the bowl so easily as the insturctions say, however.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States