Basil Pan-Seared Scallops over Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made my own variation of this, using what I had on hand: small bay scallops, quinoa linguini pasta, and the addition of some white wine, broccoli, and grape tomatoes. I sauteed the scallops with wine, butter, a little olive oil, lemon juice, minced garlic, salt, pepper, basil, a little cilantro, and onion powder. After they were cooked, I set them aside, deglazed the pan with more wine, and sauteed some frizen broccoli using the same ingredients as above. Once the broccoli was tender I added a few grape tomatoes, let them cook through, and added the scallops back into the pan with the veg. Severed over qunion linquini. I thought this was really tasty and will definitely make again. I think it would have been just as good using the original recipe if you have the items on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
WAY TOO MUCH OIL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I think this turned out delicious but not sure why so many bowls used in the directions; The butter w/lemon wont sear them, it will only saute them; you'll need to sear them in just oil or butter first (I used hot olive oil) and then add the lemon in later; I tried it the directions way and it didn't work! I think the texture is better with a little crust on them. I didn't want to waste the marinate so I added it in the sauce for more lemon flavor; I also added some fresh basil. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Instead of pasta, I made a bed of wilted spinach and artichoke hearts and placed the scallops on top. This is the same meal that I had at one of Seattle's nicer restaurants that cost $175.00 for two. Although not quite as tasty as the restaurant scallops, it was certainly a close second for a fraction of the price.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was a nice, light dinner I made tonight. I added extra garlic, and next time I think I'll cut back on the oil just a bit. Thanks for the recipe, Grace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by apainter0703
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Delicious! My husband and I loved it! I used rotini instead of farfalle and used fresh basil instead of dried. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apainter0703

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
It had no flavor. As much as I love scallops, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I'll definitely be making this again. I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because I had lemon basil on hand instead of regular basil. I'll try it w/ regular basil next time. It was easy to make and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Amazing! I made only slight modifications: - Used orzo because that's all I had - I removed the scallops from the skillet once cooked and used the same skillet to make the sauce. - Added 2 cups fresh spinach and orzo to the sauce. Cooked for a few minutes, then served topped with the scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Excellent! We didn't feel like pasta so just did the scallops. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States