Basil Pan-Seared Scallops over Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
My family liked this very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Well, there was no way I was going to waste the scallop marinade. So, I thawed out a 10 oz box of frozen chopped spinach and squeezed it dry. After searing the scallops, I deglazed the pan with a half cup of dry white wine and let it reduce, then added 4 tbsp butter, the remaining basil and garlic, and sauteed the spinach. Then I added the scallop marinade, and let it cook at high heat to kill any bacteria and reduce...checked for seasonings, then added two ladlefuls of pasta water to make a sauce. Returned the scallops to the sauce to make sure they were cooked through, then mixed with hot pasta and topped with parmesan cheese. Excellent! With the use of the pasta water I did not use more than 1/4 c of olive oil and 4 tbsp butter. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPinky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I thought this was great. My daughter compared it to a nice italian restaurant that we frequent. I added about a pound of precooked shrimp ( peeled and deveined), along with the scallops. Also, more garlic to our taste. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
We liked this, I took the advice of others and cut down the oil and butter a bit and I thought it still tasted yummy. I added some other stuff I had around like mushrooms, artichoke hearts, peeled tomato and red pepper fresh from the garden. I also added a touch of white white because I cook with wine and sometimes put it in the food you know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laytonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Agree that the scallops were good but the pasta was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I really wanted to like this because we love scallops. I tasted the scallops after cooking them and they were delicious. I have to say though that there is way to much oil in the sauce, and it was kind of bland. I will probobly make the scallops this way again but serve them with a rice dish and vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This recipe was okay but to be fair, I did change a few things. I messed up and added the dried basil to the mixture. I cut back on the amount of basil because I added fresh basil from my garden toward the end of cooking. I also added some tomato and some shrimp. I cut back a little on the butter & oil and served with grated parmesian cheese. It was very easy to make and resulted in an "okay" meal but not anything we raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Okay, I made quite a few different changes. First off I totally omitted the oil, and I only used 6 tbsp butter. I cooked the scallops in the juice of one orange and one lime (I hate the taste of fishiness). Once those had cooked about 3-5 mins I drained all but about 1 tbsp of the juices off the scallops (just eyeball it) put it back on the stove and then put your basil and I added 1 tsp of garlic powder and onion powder. Let the rest of the juice cook off and then add the butter sauce. Once that is coated I add about 2 1/2 cups of broccoli. (It is wonderful with this dish and I always use fresh ingredients where possible) but then you cover and let simmer for about 5-8 mins or until the broccoli is done but not wilted. I also prepare an alfredo sauce while this is simmering. I think it cuts down the greasiness and adds a little something extra. (you can make low fat sauce as well just use no fat milk and the healthy butter if there really is one :) ) but once it is all done I have the pasta in the same pot as the scallops/broccoli and add the sauce to the pot. It is most definitely a huge hit with my husband and he eats until he is miserable and has done that each of the four times I have made this dish. I know this is long but I hope that someone enjoys this as much as my family and I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was great! I did add spinach and a few fresh mushrooms at the end- just to add veggies! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
After reading some of the comments about the lack of flavour, I decided to add a hot pepper just in case. It turned out really great. I did reduce the oil and butter a bit though. I also decided to go with sea salt. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States