Basil-Lime Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I was sceptical with the combination, but this was fantastic. I serve it after a spicy meal, and it is the perfect ender to a meal and cleanses the palate beautifully. I also experimented with rum for a beautiful mojito! This recipe is so good and so easy, and keeps in the freezer for a long time. Thank you for this creative idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ogilvie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Wow, fantastic. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I have an herb garden that produces waaaaay too much basil. This was a great way to get rid of some of my surplus, and it was surprisingly delicious. Though my friends were a little hesitant when i first told them what went into it, they asked for the recipe and made it themselves the next two nights in a row. Great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
The first time I tried this, it was a little too sour for my family, so for the second batch I added another half cup of simple syrup and it turned out GREAT. Also, it took longer than 2 hours to freeze the mixture (even starting with chilled simple syrup). I think this is best prepared a day in advance. This recipe is so easy and delicious, I will be making it several times this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
A delicious, palate-cleansing sorbet. It was most enjoyed by the adults in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1GoodCooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowland Heights, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Ran out of lime juice - used lime + lemon + pineapple. Had no basil - used sage. Threw in frozen blackberries. The sorbet was DELICIOUS, just seedy from the blackberries. Yes my username should be FailureToFollowDirections.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Fabulous! Perfect refresher course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awesome cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Delicious. It was very sweet...may try using half the sugar next time. Oh, and I didn't stir it after 2 hours like the recipe said, and it still had a soft, scoopable texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I halved the sugar right from the get-go, following other reviewers' advice. Basil from the farmers market is cheap and limes from the tree outside make this a very economical palate cleaner. This tasty and refreshing sorbet is a favorite at our house now and I always have some in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This is spectacular. Wonderful blend of flavors that will have everyone guessing. Getting sorbet completely frozen took a bit longer than recipe said but overall very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States