Basil-Lime Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Fabulous! Perfect refresher course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awesome cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I used 1/2 cup Splenda instead of 1 cup sugar. It was ... unusual. IF I ever make this again, I will definitely cut down on the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This is a nice, light dessert. The basil is noticeable but subtle. I used agave and water rather than simple syrup. This would also be delicious with fresh mint instead of basil, or orange and basil (with much less sugar, of course)--or lemon, honey, and mint! This is a great base for experimentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Ran out of lime juice - used lime + lemon + pineapple. Had no basil - used sage. Threw in frozen blackberries. The sorbet was DELICIOUS, just seedy from the blackberries. Yes my username should be FailureToFollowDirections.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
A delicious, palate-cleansing sorbet. It was most enjoyed by the adults in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1GoodCooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowland Heights, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
this turned out to be a wonderful aperitif to clean the palate. We have made this several times and now just keep it in the fridge. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Reeves Greenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I was sceptical with the combination, but this was fantastic. I serve it after a spicy meal, and it is the perfect ender to a meal and cleanses the palate beautifully. I also experimented with rum for a beautiful mojito! This recipe is so good and so easy, and keeps in the freezer for a long time. Thank you for this creative idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ogilvie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is a great martini mixer!! Just add vodka. Garnish with a lime twist and 1 small basil leaf. Beautiful and so refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This is very unusual sorbet. Tasty, but it was a little sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Very unusual. Would probably make again, but would cut back on the basil slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States