Basil-Lime Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Really interesting taste! For basil lovers only. 6 smallish limes ended up making 3/4 cup juice. I substituted Splenda for the sugar the second time I made this and couldn't taste a difference. Let freeze overnight and had a hard time blending the frozen pieces at the end maybe I just need a more powerful blender. Also, the serving sizes would have to be ultra tiny to get 8 out of the recipe. Thanks for sharing Mark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Even though I halved the sugar in the simple syrup (after reading other reviews), this was teeth-curling sweet. Guests' comments: "unusual...", "wow, that's strong," and "basil??" I liked the idea of using it with rum added, but probably won't make again. Thanks for the post, it was nice to do something unusual!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Basil from the garden and organic cane sugar, great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This was an amazing sorbet!!!! My husband and I gobbled it up. It is the perfect introduction to spring. I served it with sliced strawberries and they added a nice balance of sweet to the sour of the lime. It was great and I will definitely make this all through the summer and the years after. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Love this sorbet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I still haven't made it with basil, but we make it with mint, then blend with rum for frozen mojitos! Yummmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This is spectacular. Wonderful blend of flavors that will have everyone guessing. Getting sorbet completely frozen took a bit longer than recipe said but overall very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I halved the sugar right from the get-go, following other reviewers' advice. Basil from the farmers market is cheap and limes from the tree outside make this a very economical palate cleaner. This tasty and refreshing sorbet is a favorite at our house now and I always have some in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This reaches a really nice consistency in the blender, just like sorbet. However it was waaaay too sweet for me. So I blended in some more water, lime and basil (everything but the sugar). This way you can modify it to your taste. Very refreshing. Would give it 5 stars if it wasn't so sweet right off the bat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Delicious. It was very sweet...may try using half the sugar next time. Oh, and I didn't stir it after 2 hours like the recipe said, and it still had a soft, scoopable texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Melon Ice Candy

See how to make refreshing homemade cantaloupe pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States