Basil-Lime Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Used this as a topping for spicy gazpacho, it went great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This dessert is AMAZING. Simple ingredients, easy to prepare, and oh so full of wonderful flavor! Sure its half sugar but just a very small scoop goes a long way and is very satisfying. A great use for home-grown basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Delicious! We have a plethora of basil this summer, and made this on a whim. So glad I did! I followed the recipe exactly, and I was thrilled with the results. The only problem I have with this recipe is that it takes much longer than two hours for the sorbet to initially freeze, which wasn't a big deal for me. I can't wait to make this again. Next I'll be trying a lemon-lime basil sorbet. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Turtle in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This was refreshing! I opted to make my simple syrup on the stove, add lime juice, then add basil leaves- let those steep in the lime/syrup mixture for 2 hours, then strained the basil leaves out. The sorbet had an excellent and refreshing flavor. The amount of basil taste was just right. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I loved this sorbet! I'd made simple syrup for another recipe and had already added the juice and zest from two limes. I had about 1/2 cup leftover, so I used that and added about 20 fresh basil leaves to it. I froze it in my ice cream maker, and it worked out perfectly. It tastes fresh and fantastic. Even two days later, it wasn't a frozen brick like some sorbets turn to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Too tart for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
If I could give this more stars I would. It is absolutely amazing! Even better with rum and a glug of spirte added to it. My new favorite drink. Who knew something was out there better than a mojito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELGIRL1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Used this during a seven course formal dinner as the palate cleansing portion. It was the biggest hit of the dinner... both old and young. Very assertive flavors, so only a scoop a piece, but perfect. (I increased the basil and decreased the sugar). Fantastic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Great summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States